Skip to main content

FYI: Freshman Year Initiative

Resources to accompany library FYI sessions, offered to new freshmen prior to the start of each fall semester.

Librarian Instructors

Jay Ballenberger
​Instruction Librarian
jballenbergerjballenberger@coloradomesa.edu
970.248.1439

Liaison Areas: Biology, Comp. Sci., Math/Stats, & Spanish

Favorite Quote: Life is like Sanskrit read to a pony.  - Lou Reed

 

Anne Bledsoe
Library Instruction Coordinator
aknipe@coloradomesa.edu  
970.248.1805

Liaison Areas: Children's Lit, Education, Lang. & Lit.

Favorite Quote: All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us. - J.R.R. Tolkien

Laureen Cantwell 
Distance Learning Librarian 
lcantwell@coloradomesa.edu
970.248.1865 

Liaison Areas: All Business Programs & MBA, Mass Communications, DNP Program, & WCCC

Favorite Quote: Don’t sweat the petty things and don’t pet the sweaty things. - George Carlin

Jeff Grossman
Electronic Resources Librarian
jgrossman@coloradomesa.edu
970.248.1520

Liaison Areas: Psychology, Social Work, & Sociology

Favorite Quote: We apologize for the inconvenience. - God in The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

 

Rose Petralia
​Head of Public Services
rpetralia@coloradomesa.edu
970.248.1259

Favorite Quote: "There is no such thing as a moral or an immoral book. Books are well written, or badly written. That is all." - Oscar Wilde in The Picture of Dorian Gray  

Deanna Rasch
​Instruction Librarian
drasch@coloradomesa.edu
970.248.1829

Liaison Areas: Criminal Justice, Art

Favorite Quote: “I realized there was nothing to do but go, so I did.” - Cheryl Strayed, Wild

Jennifer Barton
Circulation Supervisor
jlbarton@coloradomesa.edu
970.248.1818

Favorite Quote: “Books are a uniquely portable magic.” - Stephen King

 

Ali Gomez
Circulation Supervisor
agomez@coloradomesa.edu
970.248.1827

Favorite Quote: "Stories may well be lies, but they are good lies that say true things, and which can sometimes pay the rent." - Neil Gaiman 

Jamie Walker
Head of Technical Services
jwalker@coloradomesa.edu
970.248.1863