LibGuides: ENGL 150: Introduction to Literature: Literary History

Literary History Sources

Use the search box below to find in-depth analysis of literary movements and literary history. Examples: The Beat Generation, Brazilian Literature, Bloomsbury, American Transcendentalism.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature Full-text biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Literature Online(LION) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Theatre Arts, Literature Literary criticisms, biographies of authors, reference resources, plus works of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the sixth century to the present day.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Theatre Arts Index with some full-text to journal articles, books, and dissertations in literature, folklore, dramatic arts, literary criticism, literary theory, and modern languages and linguistics; 1920-current; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art & Design, Music, Theatre Arts, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Indexing (some full-text) of journal articles, books, reference works, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations in the humanities from 1925 to present; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
JSTOR has provided complimentary access during Covid to JSTOR Archives & Primary Source Collections until June 30, 2021.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Subject: Art, Language, Literature, Communication, Music Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in literature and criticism, visual and performing arts, history, political science, cultural studies, and related disciplines from 1990-current.

Literary Movements for Students
Call Number: PN597 .L58 2002
The Black Renaissance in Francophone African and Caribbean Literatures
Call Number: PQ3980.5 .F75 2008
The Companion to Southern Literature: Themes, Genres, Places, People, Movements, and Motifs
Call Number: Ref PS261 .C55 2002
An Oxford Companion to the Romantic Age
Online

Find Books & Ebooks at the Library

When searching for books concerning literary history, movements or philosophies, the following search phrases may be helpful:

"literary history" - Add this phrase to a search on a topic or place. For example: Africa literary history

"history and criticism" - Add this phrase to a search on a particular type of literature. For example: science fiction history and criticism

"in literature" - Add this phrase to a search on a topic or place to find books about its treatment in literature. For example: Russia in literature OR poverty in literature

"intellectual life" - Add this phrase to a search to find information about the intellectual life or culture in a particular place and time or among a particular group of people. For example: Bloomsbury intellectual life

"sources" - Add the word sources to a search to find information on the events, philosophy, or literature that helped inform or influence an author, a period of literature, or a particular work of literature. For example: Herman Melville sources OR Hamlet sources