LibGuides: BSN Program: Medical Research

Tracking the Research Conversation

Up-To-Date This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject: Nursing Full-text resource for peer reviewed and graded evidence-based recommendations for quality patient care and treatment that can be used by healthcare practitioners in making point-of-care decisions.
LOGIN: Registration is not required unless Nursing or PHAS students/faculty want to use features such as the mobile app. Select "Continue with your search" to bypass registration. If you have registered for an account and can't login to UpToDate, try resetting your password from the homepage.

MOBILE APP: Find answers to your clinical questions anytime, anywhere with the UpToDate Mobile app. Install on up to two devices free of charge. Click on mobile icon above.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Nursing Current systematic reviews in health care, registers for controlled trials and methodology; abstracts of reviews of effects, health technology assessments, and NHS economic evaluations.
Click on mobile icon above to download the app.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Nursing, Health Sciences Some full-text, peer-reviewed journals and trade publications with a focus on nursing, drug information, and allied health from 1937-current; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nursing Index with some full-text to journals in medicine, nursing, health care system, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and veterinary medicine from 1994-current.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subject: Nursing, Health, Life Science. Open Access Resource Index for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Searching Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

1. On the Google Scholar homepage, click on the Settings link from the menu at the top of the page
2. Select Library links from the left-hand menu
3. Search “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links box
4. Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
5. Click Save to save this setting

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If the article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.

Finding the Best Words

MeSH Subject Headings - Subject Tags used by Medline and PubMed for exact subject searching