LibGuides: Water Resources: Water Law & Policy

Regional & State Books Available @ CMU

Colorado Water Law for Non-Lawyers by P. Andrew Jones; Tom Cech
Call Number: KFC2246 .J66 2009
ISBN: 9780870819506
Publication Date: 2009-04-30
Why do people fight about water rights? Who decides how much water can be used by a city or irrigator? Does the federal government get involved in state water issues? Why is water in Colorado so controversial? These questions, and others like them, are addressed in Colorado Water Law for Non-Lawyers.
The Colorado Doctrine by David Schorr
Call Number: CMU Special Collections KF646 .S36 2012
ISBN: 9780300134476
Publication Date: 2012-11-27
Making extensive use of archival and other primary sources, David Schorr demonstrates that the development of the 'appropriation doctrine,' a system of private rights in water, was part of a radical attack on monopoly and corporate power in the arid West.
Tribal Water Rights by John E. Thorson; Sarah Britton; Bonnie G. Colby
Call Number: CMU Special Collections KF8210.N37 T758 2006
ISBN: 0816524823
Publication Date: 2006-05-25
Citizen's guide to Colorado's interstate compacts by Colorado Foundation for Water Education.
Call Number: CMU Special Collections KFC2246 .C585 2010
ISBN: 9780975407589
Publication Date: 2010
The environmental rights revolution : a global study of constitutions, human rights, and the environment by David R. Boyd.
Call Number: K3585 .B69 2012
ISBN: 9780774821605
Publication Date: 2012

Colorado State Resources

The Colorado Foundation for Water Education's (CFWE) mission is to promote a better understanding of Colorado's water resources and issues by providing balanced and accurate information and education.

CFWE has produced the following publications:

Citizen's Guide to Colorado Water Law
Includes basic information about water law; water rights and decrees; managing, administrating and regulating water in Colorado
Citizen's Guide to Water Conservation
Includes basic information about water use and challenges in homes and cities; water use in commerce and industry; water use in agriculture; and regulations and policies promoting effective water use

More Legal Water Resources

Water Law Guide
Produced by Denver University's Sturm College of Law, this guide's aim is to aid law students and practitioners in researching Colorado Water Law research materials, such as statutes, compacts, history, and legislation.

Recommended Library Databases

The following library subscription databases may lead you to more legal information and case law pertaining to water issues.

Need effective database search techniques? Click here.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Full-text regional, national & international newspapers, state and federal court cases and statutes, law reviews, and company profiles.