Colorado Mesa University Tomlinson Library: http://www.coloradomesa.edu/library
Note: Most of the links that follow in this guide can be found at the above Website.
UC Boulder Leonard H. Gemmill Library: https://www.colorado.edu/libraries/libraries/engineering-math-physics-library
Help is available from the Research Help Desk which is staffed most hours the library is open.
In Person: at the Research Help Desk as you enter the library on the main floor.
Phone: 970-248-1860
E-mail: library@coloradomesa.edu
Chat: http://www.coloradomesa.edu/library/search-research/ask-librarian.html
The above services are available whenever the Research Help Desk is staffed:
Library open Research Help Desk staffed
Sunday 1:00 pm - Midnight 1:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday-Thursday 7:30 am - Midnight 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday 7:30 am - 5:00 pm 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Hours will vary for Summer, J-Term, library remodeling and vacations. Consult library webpage for further information.
Additional help is available from the Leonard H. Gemmill Engineering Library at CU Boulder:
In Person: at the CU Engineering Library in Boulder, CO
Phone: 303-492-5396
Make a virtual appointment: https://colorado.libcal.com/appointments/gemmill
Chat found on library’s website at: https://www.colorado.edu/libraries/ask-librarian.
When a CMU or UC Boulder librarian isn't available try our online chat service at: http://www.coloradomesa.edu/library/search-research/ask-librarian.html.
The library’s online catalog is the primary access point to held items with the library including Books, DVDs, Reserve materials, etc. It can also be accessed from the "Books, Media & Archives" tab on the library home page.
Prospector: This online catalog includes multiple academic libraries in Colorado and beyond. To search this catalog, start searching in Tomlinson Library’s online catalog (above), and click on the Prospector link to repeat your search there. You can also access this catalog directly. You will be notified by e-mail when the requested item is available for pickup at Tomlinson Library. For books you need from the CU Boulder Engineering Library you will need to request them through our Interlibrary Loan Dept.
To access resources from an off-campus computer, such as at home, you will usually be asked for your MAVzone login. Occasionally you may be asked to instead use the "Library" number as it appears on your MAV card. This is a 13 digit number in the lower right corner of your MAV card beginning with 408. To use the "Library" number login you may also need to input your name and/or 700 number.
Journals by title: To find a journal title, use the Journal A-Z link from the library home page. You would use this resource to find out if we carry a particular journal of magazine, such as for example National Geographic. This will provide availability and access information for both print and electronic versions. Electronic journals can be accessed from any internet capable terminal; other journals can be requested through Interlibrary Loan (see below).
To find articles on a particular topic try one of our databases found by selecting the "Databases" search box from the library home page. Beneath the Databases search box you can browse by subject (including engineering), or view an alphabetical list of databases. To search across many article databases at one time, select the "Article Search" option from beneath the search box on the library home page, or to search across the broadest selection of resources, use the "Search All" box, also on the library home page.
For materials you need but can't find at Tomlinson Library.
If you find materials that we do not have in print or online you can request them from the Interlibrary Loan portal from the library home page.
CU Boulder online catalog (Use Interlibrary Loan (above) to request items.)
Specific CMU databases of interest to Engineering Students include:
Academic Search Complete (ASC). This database is a broad database covering a wide variety of topics including engineering, much of which is available with online full-text.
OmniFile Select. Omni-File is an all full-text broad topic database that includes science & technology materials.
PROLA. This database contains journals from the American Physical Society.
Science Direct. This database covers a wide variety of topics including Engineering. Some will be available directly in full-text.
SpringerLink eBook Collection. Contains nearly 100,000 online eBooks published by Springer. They may be searched in the our Online Catalog and downloaded as PDF files.
Links to the above and other databases can be found at: http://libguides.coloradomesa.edu/az.php.
Relevant resources freely available on the Web:
http://www.science.gov: searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies.
http://www.osti.gov/scitech/: SciTech Connect, covers Dept. of Energy collection.