LibGuides: RN to BSN Program (Online): Find Articles & Apps

Medical Database Apps For Mobile Devices

CINAHL: Search for articles across all EBSCOhost databases including CINAHL. Download the app in CINAHL by clicking the EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of the page and enter your email address. Authenticate through email on your mobile device.

Free for CMU students

PUBMED ON TAP: Search for articles on a PubMed interface with PubMed on Tap. Download the app via the app store on your device.

$2.99

MEDSCAPE: Search for drugs and drug interaction references, diseases and conditions, procedures, anatomy and more. Download the app and register.

Free

AAP RED BOOK: Redbook contains the latest immunization schedules as well as clinical guidelines on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 common childhood medical conditions. Access the app via the app store on your device.

Free for CMU students

Up-To-Date: peer reviewed and graded evidence-based recommendations. No download needed.

COCHRANE LIBRARY: Includes reviews and podcasts. Only available for apple devices and must be purchased from the iTunes store.

Library Databases

Each of the following databases have unique characteristics. It may be a good idea to try running your search in more than one of them.

Need effective database search techniques? Click here.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Nursing, Health Sciences Some full-text, peer-reviewed journals and trade publications with a focus on nursing, drug information, and allied health from 1937-current; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nursing Index with some full-text to journals in medicine, nursing, health care system, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and veterinary medicine from 1994-current.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subject: Nursing, Health, Life Science. Open Access Resource Index for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Nursing Current systematic reviews in health care, registers for controlled trials and methodology; abstracts of reviews of effects, health technology assessments, and NHS economic evaluations.
Click on mobile icon above to download the app.
Essential Evidence Plus, formerly EBM Guidelines (Evidence-Based Medicine) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Nursing, Kinesiology Full-text, current clinical guidelines for primary care combined with the best available evidence and covering a wide range of medical conditions. To Access: Click on the EBM link and then click on the "Access EBM Guidelines here" link in the middle of the introductory page.
Up-To-Date This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subject: Nursing Full-text resource for peer reviewed and graded evidence-based recommendations for quality patient care and treatment that can be used by healthcare practitioners in making point-of-care decisions.
LOGIN: Registration is not required unless Nursing or PHAS students/faculty want to use features such as the mobile app. Select "Continue with your search" to bypass registration. If you have registered for an account and can't login to UpToDate, try resetting your password from the homepage.

MOBILE APP: Find answers to your clinical questions anytime, anywhere with the UpToDate Mobile app. Install on up to two devices free of charge. Click on mobile icon above.