LibGuides: BIOL 105: Attributes of Living Systems: Home

Finding a Research Article

The assignment for this class is to find a research article from a peer-reviewed journal on a topic of interest to you.

Research articles present the results of a research study in a formal, prescribed way. A typical outline for a research article includes these sections:

Abstract
Introduction
Materials and Methods
Results
Discussion
Conclusion/Implications
References

Articles published in peer-reviewed journals undergo a rigorous evaluation (or review) by experts in the field (the author's peers). So, articles from peer-reviewed journals meet a high academic standard. Many of the library's databases give you the option to limit your search to peer-reviewed journals.

Having trouble thinking of a topic?

Click on image to access the IDEA GENERATOR from Old Dominion University

Google Scholar

Setting up Google Scholar for Off-campus Access

Searching Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

To access Google Scholar, go to scholar.google.com.
Within Google Scholar, click on the Settings link in the top right corner
On the next Scholar Settings page, select Library links from the left-hand menu
Type “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links search box
Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
Click Save to save this setting.

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If the article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.

Google Scholar also tracks articles that have referenced a specific article and so can be used to follow a trail of scholarship on a topic. Under an article of interest, click on the “Cited by” link to see a list of the subsequent articles that have referenced it.

Biology related databases

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. To limit to articles available in full text, check the "Linked Full Text" box to the left of your search results.

BioOne
Covers bioscience research journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. For best results, type keywords in the "Abstract" search box. To limit results to full text, select the radio button next to "Only content I can access."
Science Direct
Index with abstracts to e-journals from the Elsevier publishing family in the sciences, psychology, economics, medicine, and mathematics. To limit to full text, select "Subscribed Journals" under the "Source" heading.
PubMed
Over 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Agricola
Index to journal articles, books, theses, technical reports in agriculture plant & animal science, forestry, soil & water resources, food, and nutrition.
CINAHL
Articles from journals, books, and pamphlets in nursing, health education, physical therapy, sports medicine, radiology, other allied health areas, biomedical & consumer health. To limit to peer reviewed journals, select the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box to the left of your search results. To limit to full text, select the box for "Full Text."

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to magazines and journals articles in all subject areas. To limit to peer reviewed journals, select the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box to the left of your search results. To limit to full text, select the box for "Full Text."
OmniFile Select This link opens in a new window
Articles in business, the humanities, general science, education, law, and the social sciences.

*helpful hint: You can limit your search retrieve Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals and "Full-Text"

Kimbel Library Instruction Video

Science Daily RSS Feed

Top Science Stories

Looking for subject/topic ideas? Science Daily is a popular magazine that reports on scholarly research

NPR Science Friday Podcast

Everyday is Science Friday with Ira Flatow

Ask Us!

Stacey Brown

Email Me

Contact:

970.248.1439 (office)

Subjects: Biological Sciences