LibGuides: SOCO 314: Population Studies: Demographic Analysis: Your Guide

Your Guide to Conducting a Demographic Analysis

Population Reference Bureau...

Population Reference Bureau
The Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations.
PRB Population Handbook
PRB Data Sheets
PRB's Population: A Lively Introduction

CIA World Factbook: Click here to access

World Development Indicators...

>> From The World Bank:

World Health Organization (WHO)...

>> Countries

>> Government Health Observatory (GHO) data

>> Health Topics

>> Publications

>> World Health Reports

United Nations (UN) Population Fund...

>> News

>> State of the World Population 2014

>> SoWP: Previous Years

>> UNPF Topics: Population Matters

>> Click Topics @ the top, look to the right to see Population Matters topics

United Nations Population Division...

>> UN Dept of Economic & Social Affairs: Population Division, including

>> Themes (such as Aging, Mortality. Fertility, Population Trends, International Migration, Population Policies...)

>> Publications, including:

Population Facts
Maps
Datasets (Marriage Policies, Fertility Data, Population Policies, World Population Prospects...)

United Nations Statistical Yearbooks (link here)

United Nations Population Information Network (POPIN; link here)

U.S. Census.gov: International Programs...

>> International Program Data, including:

>> International Database (IDB)

>> World Population Summary

>> Country Rankings

>> HIV/AIDS Surveillance

>> Global Population Mapping

>> International Program Publications, including:

>> Population Trends

>> Aging Trends

>> Women in Development

>> Economic Profiles

>> Related Sites

Databases for Articles with Background Information & Context...

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social & Behavioral Sciences Peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference papers, and other sources on sociology from 1895-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Health Index (some full-text) of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology, psychiatry, and psychological aspects of medicine, nursing, sociology, education, physiology, anthropology, and business; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Law Full-text publications from Nolo and thousands of official legal forms; 1999-current; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.

Websites with Background and Context Information...

RAND Labor & Population: Population Matters
The goals of the Population Matters program are to highlight the importance of population policy issues, and to supply a more scientific basis for public debate over population policy questions.
RAND - Population Matters - Publications
International Federation of Red Cross: World Disasters Report
The World Disasters Report is about people and disasters. It is about those vulnerable people who are most likely to be affected by disasters and the local institutions which provide the mainstay of disaster prevention, preparedness and relief. The first edition appeared in 1993.

World Health Organization (WHO)...

>> Countries

>> Government Health Observatory (GHO) data

>> Health Topics

>> Publications

>> World Health Reports

U.S. Census.gov: International Programs...

>> International Program Data, including:

>> International Database (IDB)

>> World Population Summary

>> Country Rankings

>> HIV/AIDS Surveillance

>> Global Population Mapping

>> International Program Publications, including:

>> Population Trends

>> Aging Trends

>> Women in Development

>> Economic Profiles

United Nations Demographic & Social Topics (link here)

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (link here)

Global Health Resources...

Organisation of Economic Co-Operation & Development...

>> Better Life Index: The Better Life Index is designed to let you visualise and compare some of the key factors – like education, housing, environment, and so on – that contribute to well-being in OECD countries. It’s an interactive tool that allows you to see how countries perform according to the importance yougive to each of 11 topics that make for a better life. You can also look by Country and by Topic!

>> OECD, including:

>> Links to information by TOPIC and by COUNTRY (34 countries are OECD members)

>> Topics include: Inequality, Corruption, Gender, Health at a Glance, Indicators on Education. Social Indicators, Regional Indicators, Jobs, Main Economic Indicators (MEI), Measuring Well-Being & Progress, Migration, School Safety & Security, Water, Welfare & Social Issues...

>> OECD Data: Find, compare and share the latest OECD data: charts, maps, tables and related publications…

>> OECD iLibrary: Browse by THEME, browse by COUNTRY, and/or browse by THEME & COUNTRY. Also: view Statistics.

>> Statistical News Releases: You will find Statistical news releases, the frequency of their release, and in some cases, the future release dates; other OECD news releases can be found in the Newsroom.

RAND Labor & Population: Publications - Demographic Trends
(Scroll down for content on trends.) RAND launched Population Matters, a program for research communication that uses different means, methods, and formats for reaching audiences that influence the making of population policy in the United States and abroad. The program, which was created in 1996, addresses the concern that empirical population research is missing opportunities to inform policymaking and public awareness. RAND's involvement is also intended to fill the need for an objective "information broker" who does not espouse a political or ideological point of view on population issues.
United Nations HCR: UN Refugee Agency
The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees was established on December 14, 1950 by the United Nations General Assembly. The agency is mandated to lead and co-ordinate international action to protect refugees and resolve refugee problems worldwide. Its primary purpose is to safeguard the rights and well-being of refugees. It strives to ensure that everyone can exercise the right to seek asylum and find safe refuge in another State, with the option to return home voluntarily, integrate locally or to resettle in a third country. It also has a mandate to help stateless people. In more than six decades, the agency has helped tens of millions of people restart their lives. Today, a staff of some 8,600 people in more than 125 countries continues to help some 33.9 million persons.
Migration Policy Institute
The Migration Information Source provides fresh thought, authoritative data, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends. A unique online resource, the Source offers useful tools, vital data, and essential facts on the movement of people worldwide. Working with a team of international correspondents, the Source chronicles global migration movements, provides perspectives on current migration debates, and offers the tools and data from numerous global organizations and governments needed to understand migration. The Source does this in a way that is accessible to researchers, policymakers, journalists, and general publics interested in migration. The migration scholars who contribute to the Source include some of the most respected and prominent voices in the migration and refugee fields. The Source also relies on the goodwill of several global organizations and governments who make their data and research publicly available.

Migration Policy Institute links...

>> International Data

>> Initiatives

>> Projects

>> Regions

>> Topics

US Department of Homeland Security: Immigration Statistics
Has Data and Factsheets available, as well as a Strategic Plan.

Databases for Articles...

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social & Behavioral Sciences Peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference papers, and other sources on sociology from 1895-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Health Index (some full-text) of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology, psychiatry, and psychological aspects of medicine, nursing, sociology, education, physiology, anthropology, and business; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
JSTOR has provided complimentary access during Covid to JSTOR Archives & Primary Source Collections until June 30, 2021.
Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Law Full-text publications from Nolo and thousands of official legal forms; 1999-current; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.

Encyclopedia Sources...

Global Social Issues by Christopher G. Bates (Editor); James Ciment (Editor)
Call Number: Online (eReference)
ISBN: 0765682931
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
This landmark reference work is a comprehensive, one-stop interdisciplinary resource that examines important, current social issues in global and historical perspective. Approximately 140 in-depth, balanced text entries cover a broad range of critical topics pertaining to the natural environment, health, energy, science, the media, ethnic conflict, poverty, labor, justice, individual rights, family, gender, and immigration, to name just a few. Each original, signed article provides historical context as well as a thorough discussion and analysis of a contemporary issue in today's interconnected global society. Articles also include essential primary documents, as well as extensive further reading lists, Web sites of notable institutions and organizations, statistical data, and photographs. In all, Global Social Issues provides essential, objective information that enables students to understand and evaluate the major challenges facing human society worldwide and to foster awareness and critical thinking as "global citizens" of the 21st century.