Skip to main content

ARTH 400: Criticism and Research: Theory and Method

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar can be a great way to do research on particularly narrow or specialized topics. It can also be a good way to get a sense of what might be available on a topic. The best part is that Google Scholar can often show you what is available through the Tomlinson Library databases.

One note of caution: sometimes if you click on a Google Scholar result, it will take you to a publisher's website and the publisher will ask for money so you can read the article. Never pay for an article. The library can get it for you for free using Prospector or Interlibrary Loan.

You can set up Google Scholar to recognize that you have access to databases through the Tomlinson Library. To set this up, use the Google Scholar menu in the upper left corner to find the Settings options.

Google Scholar menu

Select Library links from the Settings menu, then type Colorado Mesa University in the search box. Check the box next to "Colorado Mesa University - Full-text available" and be sure to click Save.

Library Links search in Google Scholar

If you see a link to the right of the results in Google Scholar, you should have access to the book, article, or document. It could be available online for free, or it's available full text through the Tomlinson Library databases (jstor.org is a database you can access through the library).

Google Scholar results

If a book or article does not have a link next to it, you can still double check its availability through the library by using the OneSearch option on the library homepage.

OneSearch at Tomlinson Library

If you're sure the library doesn't provide access to the book or article, you can request it through Prospector or Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary loan

Be sure to check the bibliographies, works cited, or notes in the journal articles and books that you find. They provide information on whether or not an article or book can be considered scholarly and also give you additional sources to consult for your own research. You can use the same techniques of using OneSearch on the library homepage to see if the library provides access and then using Prospector or Interlibrary Loan for anything you can't find through the library.

Bibliography example