Chat requires JavaScript.
Ask a Librarian!
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 132: United States History II - Krch

Resources for researching biographical information about historical individuals underrepresented in the history books.

Digital resources

The Internet has made finding primary sources so much easier! Once upon a time, you had to either travel long distances to archives to find primary sources or hope that someone had published the primary sources you needed in a book. Now you can find primary sources in a variety of online digital repositories.

For your project, I've had the best luck with the Digital Public Library of America.

Online archival research tips

  • Most archival materials are not digitized and online
  • Often archives include collection guides (also called finding aids) that describe a collection of items (photographs, syllabi, reports, letters, etc.), but nothing from that collection has been digitized
  • You can email or call the archives staff to double-check - sometimes the items have been digitized but not made available on their website
  • Be flexible with your search terms (also called keywords) - often a single word is better than a phrase (more than one word) to start a search
  • Google might help you find archives or collection guides, but you probably won't easily find digitized items from archival collections
  • Context is important to understand primary sources - often what you find in Google images is removed from its context (where it came from, who made the original, why they made it)
  • Archivists love context - (who, what, where, why, when) and make sure to provide as much as they can
  • You can ask archival staff to digitize something in a collection - but understand that they might say they don't have time or that it will cost money
  • Some digitized archival items can be easily downloaded as high-resolution digital files - others may require you to contact the archives staff and request a high-resolution digital file directly (this is typically determined based on the copyright status of the item)