LibGuides: ESSL 290: Kinney & Varner: Finding Sources

Sources at Tomlinson Library

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences, History, Business, Health, Law, Politics.Analysis of current social issues from different points of view. Often includes overviews of the history and controversies around a topic.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health Sciences, Political Sciences, Law Enforcement Index with full-text to in-depth studies on current or controversial issues from 1991-current. Note: only 5 users at any given time.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History, Art, Literature Full-text essays, articles, and guides that present multiple sides of an issue.

Room for Debate
The Room for Debate opinion pages from the New York Times provide essays around controversial topics from a range of perspectives. (The New York Times provides access to only 10 articles a month free of charge).
ProCon.org
From Britannica - Includes very current topics and list of controversial topics by broad subject area.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Learn how to use Academic Search Complete.
Science Direct Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, Nursing, Art, Earth Science, Engineering, Linguistics, Mathematics, Over 2700 journal titles from Elsevier in the fields of Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, and many other STEM fields. In addition, access to several thousand e-books including major reference works.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
GEORef This link opens in a new window
Subject: Geology American Geological Institute's geosciences database containing some linked full-text of journal articles, books, maps, theses and dissertations; 1785-current.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Physical & Environmental Sciences Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Teacher Education, Social Sciences, Business, Political Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health Sciences, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Computer Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Music, Art & Design,
Theatre Arts Searchable collection of streaming videos, educational films, and video segments in the humanities & social sciences, science and math, business and health and medicine.

Environmental Issues in American History: A Reference Guide with Primary Documents by Chris J. Magoc
Call Number: GE 150 .M338 2006
ISBN: 9780313322082
Publication Date: 2006-04-30
Environmental Debate: A Documentary History with Timeline, Glossary, and Appendices by Grey House Publishing Staff
Call Number: GE 197 .E7 2017 and Online access
ISBN: 9781682175507
Publication Date: 2017-09-29
U. S. Environmental Policy and Politics: A Documentary History by Kevin Hillstrom
Call Number: GE 180 .U185 2010
ISBN: 9781604264753
Publication Date: 2010-05-04
U.S. Environmentalism since 1945: A Brief History with Documents by Steven Stoll
Call Number: GE 197 .S76 2007
ISBN: 9781403971524
Publication Date: 2007-02-06
So Glorious a Landscape: Nature and the Environment in American History and Culture by Magoc, Chris J.
Call Number: Online access
ISBN: 1461666279
Publication Date: 2002

19th Century US Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects: US History, Political Science
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Colorado Historical Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: History Open Access Resource Historic Colorado newspaper database with full-text articles, graphics, letters to the editor, and advertising. Covers 44 newspapers from 1859-1923.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History History-related books, periodicals, documents, videos, biographies, photos, and maps; some full-text from 1917-current.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times (Ireland), San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others.

Special Collections and Archives at Tomlinson Library
Special Collections and Archives at Tomlinson Library contains collections related to the local area and includes hundreds of documents related to the environmental history of the Western Slope, the Colorado River watershed, the Colorado Plateau, and the western U.S.
Nelson (William H.) Colorado Water Collection
Hundreds of documents related to the management of water in the West, particularly in the Colorado River watershed, available online or in Special Collections and Archives at Tomlinson Library.
Atomic Energy Commission Collection
Hundreds of reports created on behalf of the Atomic Energy Commission are available here online or in Special Collections and Archives at Tomlinson Library.

Primary Source Collections on the Web

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience. It's one of the easiest access points for online primary source materials related to United States history.
Expansion and Reform (1801-1861) in DPLA
This subsection of DPLA contains primary sources related to the early 19th century expansion and industrial development of the United States.
Environmental Preservation in the Progressive Era in DPLA
This subsection of DPLA is focused on primary sources related to the environmental preservation in the United States during the Progressive Era.
Boomtimes Again: Twentieth-Century Mining in the Mojave Desert in DPLA
This subsection of the Digital Public Library of American focuses on primary sources related to mining in the Mojave Desert in the 20th century.
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck in DPLA
While this set of primary documents relates to the novel, that includes the initial setting of the novel, which is the drought-ridden plains that resulted in the Dust Bowl and the subsequent migrations to California.
The Hudson River School in DPLA
An artistic movement focused on the American landscape, the documents and artwork in this primary source set encapsulate an idealized vision of the environment in the U.S.
The Homestead Acts in DPLA
The Homestead Acts played a significant role in the fundamental alteration of the environment as the country expanded westward, and this primary source set provides a starting point into exploring its impact.

Library of Congress Collections
Photographs, papers, and more on all eras of American History. Includes the papers of many prominent Americans from the industrial era. While the Library of Congress does hold the papers of some individuals of interest such as Andrew Carnegie, not all collections have been digitized. And cat photos. For real.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."
Mapping the National Parks
"This collection documents the history, cultural aspects and geological formations of areas that eventually became National Parks."
Rochambeau Map Collection
"The Rochambeau Map Collection contains cartographic items used by Jean Baptiste Donatien de Vimeur, comte de Rochambeau (1725-1807), when he was commander in chief of the French expeditionary army (1780-82) during the American Revolution."
Railroad Maps, 1828 to 1900
"Contains 623 maps chosen from more than 3,000 railroad maps and about 2,000 regional, state, and county maps, and other maps which show "internal improvements" of the past century."

United States National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Be sure to select either "Available Online" or "Archival Descriptions with Digital Objects" to see documents that are available online.
National Park documents at the National Archives and Records Association
A search for "national park" turned up these results among records that are digitally available. You can try your own searches on various topics.

Hathi-Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Business,
Education, Literature Open Access Resource HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Titles out of copyright and in public domain are viewable.

Environmental History Archives of North America
"A database containing descriptions of over 7,000 groups of environmental history records located in more than 450 repositories across North America and around the world. The collections represent individuals, organizations, and associations involved with land use, conservation, or natural resource issues."
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Many of these may be available through Tomlinson Library. "You can search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials from this site – all free of charge!"
Forest History Society Digital Exhibits
U.S. Forest Service Headquarters Collection
The Forest History Society manages a collection of the US Forest Services' records and images through a searchable database. This should be used in conjunction with the US Forest Service records held by the U.S. National Archives.
Eight Online Environmental Archives to Bookmark
"These eight thought-provoking environmental archives continue to raise questions about the processes of collection, preservation, curation, and citation even as they seek to answer historical inquires."