Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Office Assistant

What is a Database?

What is a database?

A database is an electronic collection of published works, either full text documents (articles, video, music), citations, or abstracts of articles (or chapters in books). 

Tomlinson Library subscribes to over 100 research databases that contain journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on general and specific disciplines, as well as access to streaming music and video. 

List of All Databases A-Z

Recommended Databases

DynaMed's Drug A-Z feature allows you to browse DynaMed drug topics alphabetically. 


To access DynaMed from Tomlinson Library: 
1. Click on this link and login to MAVzone when prompted.  
2. Or, select Dynamed from the A-Z Database Listing and login to MAVzone when prompted. 

To browse drug topics in DynaMed:
1. From the Dynamed homepage, select Drugs A-Z from the toolbar. 

2. Click a letter to browse drugs alphabetically. 

3. Enter a drug name in the Search bar to search more specific drug monographs. 

The DynaMed Drug Interactions tool enables you to look up two or more drugs for potential interactions.  


To access DynaMed from Tomlinson Library: 
1. Click on this link and login to MAVzone when prompted.  
2. Or, select DynaMed from the A-Z Database Listing and login to MAVzone when prompted. 

To use the Drug Interactions Tool:
1. Click Drug Interactions in the toolbar of the Home screen. 

Home Screen

2. Enter drug names into the fields provided. You can add more drug names by clicking the Add Drug link. 

Enter Drug Names

3. When you are finished entering drug names, click Check for Interactions

Check for Interactions Button

 

 

Access Medicine's integrated drug database allows you to look up dosing, indications, and adverse reactions quickly for generic and brand-name drugs, with printable handouts. 


To access AccessMedicine from Tomlinson Library: 
1. Click on this link and login to MAVzone when prompted.  
2. Or, select AccessMedicine from the A-Z Database Listing and login to MAVzone when prompted. 

To look up drug topics in AccessMedicine:
1. From the AccessMedicine homepage, select the Drugs link from the toolbar. 

Access medicine homepage

2. Search drugs by name or click on the option in the left hand menu to search Generics, Trade Names & Drug Classes

Search Drugs by Name

ScienceDirect contains the full text of over 2700 peer-reviewed journals in health science-related fields. In addition, access several thousand e-books including major reference works. 


To access ScienceDirect from Tomlinson Library: 
1. Click on this link and login to MAVzone when prompted.  
2. Or, select Science Direct from the A-Z Database Listing and login to MAVzone when prompted. 

To search for articles in ScienceDirect:
1. From the ScienceDirect homepage, enter your search terms in the Find articles with these terms box. ScienceDirect will search all parts of the document for instances of the term. 

2. To open an article from the results list, select the Download PDF link. Or, after completing your search, you can use the filters available to refine your results. 

science direct results list