Primary Sources - ENGL 384 - The Art of the Essay - LibGuides at Colorado Mesa University

The Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitized texts, art, photographs, maps, and other public domain material from the Library of Congress collections.
Public Domain Review
An open access journal "dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas – focusing on works now fallen into the public domain, the vast commons of out-of-copyright material that everyone is free to enjoy, share, and build upon without restrictions."
Smithsonian Open Access
A collection of over a million images from Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo
Project Gutenberg
A digital library of over 60,000 books in the public domain.
Internet Archive
A gathering of millions of books, movies, software, music, and other public domain material from digital collections large and small.

(Some with copyrighted material)

New York Public Library Digital Collections
"Explore 901,707 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections."
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience. It's one of the easiest access points for online primary source materials related to United States history.
Calisphere (California Digital Library)
"Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more."
National Archives and Records Administration
Use NARA's catalog to search millions of archival items. To focus on on items that are available for online viewing and downloading, select "Available Online" or "Archival Descriptions with Digital Objects" from your results list.
Europeana - Digital Collections of Europe
Cultural heritage from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A collection of digitized books and documents in the public domain (mostly pre-1924 and government publications). Includes both primary and secondary sources.

Mountain West Digital Library
"The Mountain West Digital Library is a portal to digital resources from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies throughout the Mountain West."
Denver Public Library Online Collections
Search a variety of primary sources on Colorado History available at the Denver Public Library.
History Colorado Online Collections
Search History Colorado's collections of primary sources related to a wide variety of historical events and locations within Colorado.

Documentary Drawings from the Library of Congress Digital Collections
Documentary drawings created between 1750 and 1970, including eye-witness sketches, panoramic views, portraits, and courtroom drawings.
Baratta Menu Collection
Historic Menus - From the New York Public Library Digital Collections
British Pathe
Moving image archive - British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance.
Jerome Robbins Dance Division Moving Image Archives
A virtual space for dance enthusiasts and researchers alike to browse, search, compare, and comment on dance videos and images.

ENGL 384 - The Art of the Essay