Get a Topic - ENGL 111: English Composition - Christensen - LibGuides at Colorado Mesa University

Topic Ideas

Choosing an appropriate, researchable topic is an important first step in the research process.

Check out the following suggestions to browse for a topic.

*Keep in mind, these databases may not search for you topic according to your declared major. For example, if you are a Nursing major, you will need to choose a controversial issue (such as vaccines) to search in the databases.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health Sciences, Political Sciences, Law Enforcement Index with full-text to in-depth studies on current or controversial issues from 1991-current. Note: only 5 users at any given time.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences, History, Business, Health, Law, Politics.Analysis of current social issues from different points of view. Often includes overviews of the history and controversies around a topic.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Subject: History, Art, Literature Full-text essays, articles, and guides that present multiple sides of an issue.

Idea Generator
Check out the Idea Generator (use the menu on the left hand side of the page to change subjects).

Search Databases by Subject
Look for a specific database by subject using the drop down menu. These databases will lead you to journal articles and magazines.

Ask Us!

	Chat with us!
	In-person help on 1st floor
	970.248.1860
	library@coloradomesa.edu
	See our hours of operation

ENGL 111: English Composition - Christensen: Get a Topic

Topic Ideas

Ask Us!