BIOL 483: Senior Thesis

Basic book citation example:

       Burgess, R. (2019). Rethinking global health: Frameworks of power. Routledge.

This example shows first author name, last name followed by first initial, in parenthesis the year of publication, title in italics ending with publisher name. (Citation found on page 321 of Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association seventh edition.)

In-text citation examples:

          Parenthetical citation: (Burgess, 2019)

          Narrative citation: Burgess (2019)

For further examples of different types of textual works see the resources below.

Basic article citation example:

      Anderson, M. (2018). Getting consistent with consequences. Educational Leadership, 76(1), 26-33.

This example shows first the author, last name followed by the first initial, then the year of publication in parenthesis, followed by article title, then the journal title in italics next is volume number in italics followed by issue number in parenthesis, and last is the page rage of the article. (Citation found on page 317 of Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association seventh edition.)

In-text citation examples:

          Parenthetical citation: (Anderson, 2018)

          Narrative citation: Anderson (2018)

For further examples and examples of different types of articles follow the links below.

Basic webpage on a website citation example:

Center for Disease Control and Prevention. (2018, January 23). People at high risk of developing flu-related complications. https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/disease/high_risk.htm 

This example starts with the author in this case the group that authored the piece the Center for Disease Control. Nest in parenthesis is the date the webpage was published, followed by the title in italics.  Last comes the webpage URL. (Please note that as this citation is longer than one line the second line should have a hanging indent)(Citation found on page 351 of Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association seventh edition.)

In-text citation examples:

          Parenthetical citation: (Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 2018)

          Narrative citation: Center for Disease Control and Prevention (2018)

For other types of electronic and webpage, citations see the links and resources below.

For all other types of sources including reports and gray literature, Conference presentations and proceedings, dissertations and theses, and more, including intext citations see the resources and links below.

For legal citations guidance beyond the APA Publication Manual visit the Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School at https://www.law.cornell.edu/ and https://www.law.cornell.edu/citation/

Basic book citation example:

Citation-sequence and citation-name:

Schott J, Priest J. Leading antenatal classes: a practical guide. 2nd ed. Boston (MA): Books for Midwives; 2002.

This example shows the authors' names, last name first followed by first initial, then the title of the book, edition, place of publication, publisher, and finally date of publication. (This example comes from page 592 of the Scientific Style and Format 8th ed.)

Name-sequence:

Schott J, Priest J. 2002. Leading antenatal classes: a practical guide. 2nd ed. Boston (MA): Books for Midwives.

This example shows the authors' names, last name first followed by first initial, the date of publication, then the title of the book, edition, place of publication, and finally the publisher (This example comes from page 592 of the Scientific Style and Format 8th ed.)

For in-text citation information see the CSE Basics tab of this guide.

For further examples of book citations see the manual listed below.

Basic article citation example:

Citation-Sequence and citation-name:

Smart N, Fang ZY, Marwick TH. A practical guide to exercise training for heart failure patients. J Card Fail. 2003;9(1):49-58

This example shows the authors' names, last name first followed by first initial, then the title of the article, abbreviated journal title, date of publication, volume, the issue in parenthesis, and finally page numbers. (This example comes from page 582 of the Scientific Style and Format 8th ed.)

Name-year:

Smart N, Fang ZY, Marwick TH. 2003. A practical guide to exercise training for heart failure patients. J Card Fail. 9(1):49-58

This example shows the authors' names, last name first followed by first initial, the date of publication, then the title of the article, abbreviated journal title, volume, the issue in parenthesis, and finally page numbers. (This example comes from page 582 of the Scientific Style and Format 8th ed.)

For in-text citation information see the CSE Basics tab of this guide.

For further examples of article citations see the manual listed below.

Basic website citation example:

Citation-Sequence and citation-name:

APSnet: plant pathology. St Paul (MN): American Phytopathological Association; c1994-2005 [accessed 2005 Jun 20]. http://www.apsnet.org

This example shows the title of the website home page, place of publication, publisher, date of publication, date accessed in brackets, and finally the URL.  (This example comes from page 628 of the Scientific Style and Format 8th ed.)

Name-year:

APSnet: plant pathology. c1994-2005. St Paul (MN): American Phytopathological Association; [accessed 2005 Jun 20]. http://www.apsnet.org

This example shows the title of the website home page, date of publication, place of publication, publisher, date accessed in brackets, and finally the URL.  (This example comes from page 630 of the Scientific Style and Format 8th ed.)

For in-text citation information see the CSE Basics tab of this guide.

For further examples of article citations see the manual listed below.

For all other types of sources Including interviews, panel discussions, images, social media, and more; as well as in-text citations, other resources, and samples see the resource below.

Zotero.org

In short: Zotero is a research tool that helps users collect and organize sources. It’s a free, open-source program that can be downloaded as a browser extension for Firefox, Chrome, and Safari and as a standalone program that works with Windows, Mac, or Linux systems. It’s also desktop application that lives in your browser. For many major databases and websites, the program can tell when a list of books or articles is displayed by showing an icon in the address bar, so citation information can be saved with just a few clicks.

About Zotero:

• FREE citation management tool
• Desktop version and browser extension to help add & use citations right in your browser
• Annotation and highlighting options     
• MS Word integration for in-text references & bibliographies
• Can sync to an online account (free) for access to your references on the go
• Works with library research databases via direct import/export and download-to-import options

Installing Zotero:

• Download PC or Mac version from the Zotero web site: https://www.zotero.org/download/
• After downloading the desktop version, add the browser extensions for your preferred browser (Chrome, Safari, Firefox)
  • Installing will require a quick restart of the browser.

After Installing:

• Restart your browser.
• Go to Zotero.org to create a Zotero account. Doing so is strongly recommended, for syncing citations and on-the-go access to your “library” of sources.
• Zotero accounts allow you to sync your references between computers and use groups.

For Maximum Impact:

• Install the plug-in for Word integration: https://www.zotero.org/support/word_processor_integration
• Explore the FAQ (https://www.zotero.org/support/frequently_asked_questions) and the Quick Start Guide (with videos: https://www.zotero.org/support/quick_start_guide) 
• Connect with others in your specialty: https://www.zotero.org/people/  

Want to learn more about Zotero and how to use it for your research?

Let’s talk! We can set up an in-person or remote appointment to help you use this tool.

>> PS: We do not guarantee citations (in-text or bibliography entries) will be perfect. >> You definitely still want to proofread and verify that all the necessary citation information is included for the style (e.g., APA, MLA) and type of item you're citing. :-)

Citation Help via Google Scholar

In short: Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

About Google Scholar:

• FREE
• Looks like Google so it’s user-friendly and familiar
• Ways to access full-text scholarly sources through CMU (see below for set-up)
• You can create an account and Save articles to review at a later time/date
• Create a search alert for when new material on your topic(s) of interest have been added
• Can search patents and case law (legal content), too

Getting Set-up for Success with Google Scholar:

• Click  at the top of the page to access Google Scholar Settings in your browser
• Click “Library Links” on the left side of the page
• Search for: Colorado Mesa University
• Check the box for “Colorado Mesa University – Full-text available”

Interpreting Your Google Scholar Search Results:

But Beware – Nothing is Perfect! We do not guarantee citations (in-text or bibliography entries) will be perfect. >> You definitely still want to proofread and verify that all the necessary citation information is included for the style (e.g., APA, MLA) and type of item you're citing. :-)