Research Resources - ENGL 112: English Composition - Durham - LibGuides at Colorado Mesa University

Resources for the Documented Antisemitism Research & Exposition Project

Encyclopedias and Other Background Sources

Encyclopedia Judaica by Fred Skolnik; Michael Berenbaum
Call Number: DS102.8 .E496 2007 Reference collection
Publication Date: 2006
Available in print - 22 volume encyclopedia on key figures and topics in Jewish history and culture
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion by Adele Berlin (Editor-In-Chief); Maxine Grossman (Editor-In-Chief)
Publication Date: 2011
Available online - The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, practice, & law
LIMITED TO ONE USER AT A TIME

Holocaust Encyclopedia
From the U. S. Holocaust Memorial Museum
YIVO Encyclopedia of Jewish Europe
Available online - From the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research, history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present

Article Databases Helpful for Jewish History

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
JSTOR has provided complimentary access during Covid to JSTOR Archives & Primary Source Collections until June 30, 2021.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art & Design, Music, Theatre Arts, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Indexing (some full-text) of journal articles, books, reference works, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations in the humanities from 1925 to present; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
OmniFile Select This link opens in a new window
Subject: Academic Journals for all subjects Some full-text to multidisciplinary journals and magazines from 1994-current.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social & Behavioral Sciences Peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference papers, and other sources on sociology from 1895-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy, and philosophy of language.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History History-related books, periodicals, documents, videos, biographies, photos, and maps; some full-text from 1917-current.

Books, eBooks & Media at the Library

Search the Library's collection of books, ebooks, & streaming media using the search below

Films on Demand Streaming Video Library
Includes titles concerning antisemitism and Jewish history and culture