BIOL 101: General Human Biology - Montemarano

Basic book citation example:

       Burgess, R. (2019). Rethinking global health: Frameworks of power. Routledge.

This example shows first author name, last name followed by first initial, in parenthesis the year of publication, title in italics ending with publisher name. 

(Citation found on page 321 of Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association seventh edition.)

In-text citations:

• Parenthetical citation: (Burgess, 2019)

• Narrative citation: Burgess (2019)

For further examples of different types of textual works see the resources below.

Basic article citation example:

      Anderson, M. (2018). Getting consistent with consequences. Educational Leadership, 76(1), 26-33.

This example shows first the author, last name followed by the first initial, then the year of publication in parenthesis, followed by article title, then the journal title in italics next is volume number in italics followed by issue number in parenthesis, and last is the page rage of the article. 

(Citation found on page 317 of Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association seventh edition.)

In-text citations:

• Parenthetical citation: (Anderson, 2018)

• Narrative citation: Anderson (2018)

For further examples and examples of different types of articles follow the links below.

Basic webpage on a website citation example:

Center for Disease Control and Prevention. (2018, January 23). People at high risk of developing flu-related complications. https://www.cdc.gov/flu/about/disease/high_risk.htm 

This example starts with the author in this case the group that authored the piece the Center for Disease Control. Nest in parenthesis is the date the webpage was published, followed by the title in italics.  Last comes the webpage URL. (Please note that as this citation is longer than one line the second line should have a hanging indent)

(Citation found on page 351 of Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association seventh edition.)

In-text citations:

• Parenthetical citation: (Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 2018)

• Narrative citation: Center for Disease Control and Prevention (2018)

For other types of electronic and webpage, citations see the links and resources below.

For all other types of sources including reports and gray literature, Conference presentations and proceedings, dissertations and theses, and more, including intext citations see the resources and links below.

For legal citations guidance beyond the APA Publication Manual visit the Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School at https://www.law.cornell.edu/ and https://www.law.cornell.edu/citation/

Basic book citation example:

      Morrison, Toni. Beloved. Alfred A. Knopf, 1987.

This example shows first the author, last name first, then title of the book in italics, followed by the publisher and the year published.

(Citation found on page 236 of MLA Handbook ninth edition.)

In-text citations:

• Parenthetical citation: (Morison 35)

• Narrative citation:  As Morrison writes in Beloved, "Places, places are still there. If a house burns down, it's gone, but the place-the picture of it-stays" (35).

For further examples and examples of different types of books follow the links below.

Basic article citation example:

      Baron, Naomi. "Redefining Reading: The Impact of Digital Communication Media." PMLA, vol.128, no. 1, Jan. 2013, pp. 193-200.

This example shows first the author's name, last name first, then the title of the article in quotations, the title of the journal in italics, followed by the volume, number, and year of the journal, and then finally the page numbers of the article in the journal. 

(Citation found on page 229 of MLA Handbook ninth edition.)

In-text citations:

•  Parenthetical citation: (Baron 194)

•  Narrative citation:  According to Naomi Baron, reading is "just have of literacy. The other half is writing" (194).

For more examples and other types of article citations see the links and resources below.

A basic example of a website citation:

Film Crit Hulk. “What we talk about When We Talk about Female Filmmaking.” Film Crit Hulk! Hulk Blog!. 16 Mar. 2018, https://filmcrithulk.blog/2018/03/16/what-we-talk-about-when-we-talk-about-female-filmmaking/.

In this example we see the creator's name, the title of the article or item in quotes, followed by the title of the webpage in italics, then the date of the article publication, last is the web address, or location, of the webpage. 

(Citation found on page 114 of MLA Handbook ninth edition.)

In-text citations:

•  Parenthetical citation: (Film Crit Hulk)

•  Narrative citation:  According to Film Crit Hulk,.....

For more examples and other types of web and electronic sources citations see the links and resources below.

For all other types of sources Including interviews, paintings, panel discussions, music, movies, and more; as well as in-test citations, other resources, and samples see the resources below.

Basic book example:

Notes example:

      1. Atul Gawande, Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End (London: Profile Books, 2014), 79-80.

       2. Gawande, Being Mortal, 191.

In this example #1 gives the author name first name first surname last, the title of the book, place of publication, publisher, date of publication, ending with page numbers referenced. #2 give the author last name, the main part of the title, and pages references.

Bibliography example:

      Gawande, Atul. Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End. London: Profile Books, 2014.

Here we have the author name listed surname first, then title, place of publication, publisher, and date of publication.

(These citations can be found in The Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition on page 799-800).

For further examples and examples of different types of books follow the links and resources below.

Basic article citation example:

Notes citation examples:

      1. Charlotte F. Narr and Amy C Krist, "Host Diet Alters Trematode Replication and Elemental Composition," Freshwater Science  34, no. 1 (March 2015): 81, accessed August 1, 2017, https://doi.org/10.1086/679411.

      2. Narr and Krist, "Host Diet," 88-89.

In this example #1 gives the authors' names first names first surnames last, the title of the article, the title of the journal, volume number and issue number, date of publication, page numbers referenced, then date accessed if accessed online, and finally DOI number or URL if accessed online. #2 give the authors' last names, the main part of the title, and pages references.

Bibliography citation example:

      Narr, Charlotte F., and Amy C. Krist, "Host Diet Alters Trematode Replication and Elemental Composition." Freshwater Science  34, no. 1 (March 2015): 81-91. Accessed August 1, 2017, https://doi.org/10.1086/679411.

In this example the first author's name is given sure name first, the second author's name is given first name first surnames last, next is the title of the article, the title of the journal, volume number and issue number, date of publication, page numbers, then date accessed if accessed online, and finally DOI number or URL if accessed online.

(These citations can be found in The Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition on page 833-834).

For further examples and examples of different types of articles follow the links and resources below.

Basic website example:

Notes example:

      1. William Germano, "Futurist Shock," Lingua Franca (blog), Chronicle of Higher Education, February 15, 2017, http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2017/02/15/futurist-shock/.

This example gives the author name first name first surname last, the title of the blog entry or web article, blog and/or webpage titles, date of publication, and URL.

Bibliography example:

 Germano, William. "Futurist Shock," Lingua Franca (blog), Chronicle of Higher Education, February 15, 2017,  http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2017/02/15/futurist-shock/.

Here we have the author name listed surname first, the title of the blog entry or web article, blog and/or webpage titles, date of publication, and URL.

(These citations can be found in The Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition on page 847 ).

For further examples and examples of different types of websites follow the links and resources below.

There are many different types of primary sources.  Listed here are just a couple of ways to cite them in Chicago Style.  For other types see the resources below or chat with a librarian.

When looking at a collection of letters or other primary source documents that have been collected into an edited book are cited as this example:

Notes example:

   1. Adams to Charles Milnes Gaskell, Baden, September 22, 1867, in Letters of henry Adams, 1858-1891, ed. Worthing Chauncey Ford (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1930), 133-134.

Here we have the sender's first name, recipient full name,  place, and date letter was prepared, followed by the title of the collection editors name, publisher location, publisher name, date of publication, and page numbers. (Example from Chicago Manual of Style page 805).

Bibliography example:

     Adams, Henry. Letters of Henry Adams, 1858-1891. Edited by Worthington Chauncey Ford. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1930.

In this example, we have the sender's full name, the title of the collection, name of the editor, location of publication, publisher name, and date of publication. (Example from Chicago Manual of Style page 805).

For books of this nature consulted online include at the end the DOI number or URL.

For working with unpublished materials and manuscript collection information to include in the citation are:

title and date of the item, series title if applicable, name of the collection, name of the depository where applicable, see an example below.

Manuscript Notes example:

   1. James Oglethorpe to the Trustees, 13 January 1733, Phillipps Collection of Egmont manuscripts, 14200:13, University of Georgia Library.

Bibliography example:

Egmont manuscripts. Phillipps Collection. University of Georgia.

(These examples can be found in The Chicago Manual of Style page 854).

The author-date system in the Chicago Style of citations is most often used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. Most citations in the author-date system are similar to the notes-bibliography system, except for the date of publication which generally follows the author's name. 

Sources are cited in text in parenthesis with author name and publication date as an example: (Bissell 2011)

This would then refer to a "References" page or "Works Cited" page thus:

Bissell, Tom. 2011. Extra Lives: Why Video Games Matter. New York: Vintage Books.

(These citations are taken from The Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition page 893).

For more information and examples see the reference below.  In The Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition, information can be found in chapter 15 which starts on page 892. In A Manual for Writers 9th edition look for chapters 18 and 19 starting on page 223.

For all other types of sources including published broadcasted interviews, audio visual materials, ancient or sacred or classical or medieval sources, legal and more see the texts and resources below.