LibGuides: Political Science Research: Library Resources

Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete

Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Social Sciences Full Text
Subjects: Social & Behavioral Sciences, Political Sciences Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more.
Hein Online
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 186 million pages and 287,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
JSTOR

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Latin American Studies eBook collection. Feminist and Women's Studies eBook collection. American Indian Studies eBook collection. African American Studies eBook collection. Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
Environment Complete
Subjects: Physical & Environmental Sciences Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Greenfile
Subjects: Agriculture, Biological Sciences Covers the various aspects of human impact on the environment such as: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Some full-text peer-reviewed articles from 1950-current.
Ethnic Diversity Source
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.

Find books and ebooks in the library collections

National, Regional, and International News

US Major Dailies
Subject: Business, Language, Literature, and Communication Contains full text of the New York Times (including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, LA Times, and the Washington Post.
Newspaper Source Plus
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times (Ireland), San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others.
Nexis Uni
Subjects: Business, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Full-text regional, national & international newspapers, state and federal court cases and statutes, law reviews, and company profiles.

Search Google Scholar and Connect with CMU Library Resources

Searching Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

1. On the Google Scholar homepage, click on the Settings link from the menu at the top of the page
2. Select Library links from the left-hand menu
3. Search “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links box
4. Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
5. Click Save to save this setting

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If the article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.