Chat requires JavaScript.
Ask a Librarian!
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Work: Articles

Social work is a profession dedicated to social and economic justice. Social workers focus primarily on the needs and empowerment of vulnerable, oppressed, at-risk populations, and those living in poverty.

Article Databases for Social Work

Inter-Library Loan for Articles

Why limit your options?

If the CMU Library does not have what you need, the Inter-Library Loan Department obtains articles, borrows books, music, movies, or documentaries for you.  Take advantage of this popular and valuable service for faculty, staff and students.  It's fast, easy and free!

ILLIAD is our Inter-Library Loan system. Place a new request, check on the status of an existing request or retrieve your article through ILLIADArticles are easily retrieved from your desktop, tablet or smart device. 

Becky Bernal, Resource Sharing Coordinator, or Reference Librarians are available to answer any questions you have. Please see our FAQ for further information.

Selected Social Work Journals

Child Welfare

  Child & Adolescent Social Work Journal - full text with 12 month embargo

  Child Abuse & Neglect: The International Journal - indexing in Science Direct; articles available in Rapid ILL

Community Practice

   American Journal of Community Psychology - Multi full text with 12 month embargo

   Health and Social Care in the Community - Multi full text with 12 month embargo

   Journal of Community Psychology -  full text Wiley Online

Disability and Rehabilitation

  Journal of Social Work in Disability & Rehabilitation - available in Rapid ILL

Families

   Child and Family Social Work - full text Wiley Online

   Family Relations - full text Wiley Online

  Journal of Family Social Work - Education Research Complete 2000-present with 18 month embargo

  Journal of Family Strengths - Full text in DOAJ

Gerontology

   Journal of Elder Abuse and Neglect - available in Rapid ILL

   Journal of Gerontological Social Work - available in Rapid ILL

   Journal of Social Work in End-of-Life & Palliative Care - Full text in SocINDEX with 18 month embargo

Health Care

   Health & Social Work - Multi with 12 month embargo

   Health Care in Social Work - available in Rapid ILL

   Social Work in Health Care - available in Rapid ILL

   Social Work in Public Health - Education Research Complete 1992-present with 18 month embargo

International/Multicultural

   International Journal of Social Welfare - full text in Wiley Online

   International Social Work - Full text in Sage

   Journal of Comparative Social Welfare - Full text in SocINDEX with 18 month embargo

   Journal of Global Social Work Practice - Full text in DOAJ

Mental Health

   Clinical Social Work Journal - Multi with 12 month embargo

   Social Work in Mental Health - available in Rapid ILL

   Suicide and Life-Threatening Behavior - Full text in Wiley Online

Social Work Policy

   Critical Social Work - open access

   Journal of Policy Practice - available in Rapid ILL

   Journal of Poverty: Innovations on Social, Political & Economic Inequalities - Multi full text with 18 month embargo

   Journal of Social Policy - Full text in SocINDEX

   Social Policy & Administration - full text in  Wiley Online Library

   Social Policy Journal of New Zealand - full text in SocINDEX

   Social Work in Public Health - Education Research Complete 1992-present with 18 month embargo

Practice of Social Work

   Administration in Social Work - Full text with 18 month embargo

   Annual of Social Work (Ljetopis Socijalnog Rada) - SocIndex 2009 to current

   Journal of Evidence-Based Social Work - Full text in SocINDEX with 18 month embargo

   Journal of Human Behavior in the Social Environment - Full text in SocINDEX with 18 month embargo

   Journal of Social Work - Multi full text

   Journal of Social Work Practice - Academic Search Complete 1999-present with 18 month embargo

   Journal of Social Work Values and Ethics - Full text in DOAJ

   New Social Worker, The - Multi with full text in SocINDEX
   Psychoanalytic Social Work - Full text in SocINDEX with 18 month embargo

   Smith College Studies in Social Work - Full text in SocINDEX 11/01/1992 to 12/31/2004

   Social Service Review - Full text in SocINDEX with 12 month embargo

   Social Work - Multi full text in Publisher

   Social Work and Christianity - Multi full text

   Social Work and Society - Open access journal

   Social Work with Groups - Subscribed to print

Research

   Advances in Social Work - Open access journal

   Journal of Social Service Research - Full text in SocINDEX with 18 month embargo

   Research on Social Work Practice - Full text in Sage

   Social Work Research - Multi with 12 month embargo

Rural Social Work

   Rural Social Work Journal - open access

Substance Abuse

   Journal of Social Work Practice in the Addictions - Full text in SocINDEX with 18 month embargo

Publications by Social Work Students

   Perspectives on Social Work (A journal for doctoral students) - available at http://www.uh.edu/socialwork/academics/phd/doctoral-journal/

   Social Work Perspectives - Academic Search Complete 1975-present with 12 month embargo

Social Work Education

   Journal of Baccalaureate Social Work - Multi Full text

   Journal of Social Work Education - Multi full text

   Journal of Social Work Values and Ethics - Full text in DOAJ

   Journal of Teaching in Social Work - Full text in SocINDEX with 18 month embargo

   School Social Work Journal - Multi full text


Key:

= Recommended by CMU faculty (also includes High Impact titles)

= High Impact journal (this title is widely cited by professionals and researchers in the field)