LibGuides: Early Scholars: Social & Behavioral Sciences Research: Home

Find Books & Ebooks at the Library

Finding Books at Other Libraries

Prospector is a shared catalog of the major libraries in Colorado and Wyoming, providing access to over 30 million items. Request materials for delivery to Tomlinson Library (usually within 3-5 business days).

WorldCat searches holdings in 10,000 libraries worldwide. Select the "Request This Item" link to request a particular item.

Requesting books from Tomlinson Library

Books and other materials from the Tomlinson Library collection can be sent to your local public library for pick-up. (For Delta County, please see instructions below). Materials can also be sent to the Montrose and Bishop campuses.

To request an item:

Search the library catalog
Select a title of interest, and then click on the "Request This" button
You will be asked to enter your name, library number, and a pick-up location

If you are selecting the Montrose or Bishop campuses as your pick-up location, use the library number on your MAV card. If you are selecting a local public library as a pick-up location, enter the number on your public library card.

Delta County Public Library users can use their Interlibrary Loan service to request materials from our collection.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Subject: Art, Language, Literature, Communication, Music Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in literature and criticism, visual and performing arts, history, political science, cultural studies, and related disciplines from 1990-current.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
JSTOR has provided complimentary access during Covid to JSTOR Archives & Primary Source Collections until June 30, 2021.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social & Behavioral Sciences Peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference papers, and other sources on sociology from 1895-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art & Design, Music, Theatre Arts, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Indexing (some full-text) of journal articles, books, reference works, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations in the humanities from 1925 to present; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History History-related books, periodicals, documents, videos, biographies, photos, and maps; some full-text from 1917-current.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Health Index (some full-text) of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology, psychiatry, and psychological aspects of medicine, nursing, sociology, education, physiology, anthropology, and business; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: Psychology, Behavioral Sciences Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the field of psychology; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.

A selection of online journals is below. For a full listing, or to look up a particular journal, please see the Journal Finder.

History Compass
History Compass is an online-only journal publishing peer-reviewed state-of-the-field articles. Includes some historiography review articles.
Rethinking History
This journal includes historiographic articles reconsidering particular historians or approaches. The most recent 18 months are not available in full text, but articles from this time period are available fairly quickly through Interlibrary Loan.
History & Theory
This journal includes articles, review essays and summaries of books in the areas of critical and speculative philosophy of history, historiography and history of historiography, historical methodology, critical theory, time and culture and related disciplines.
American Historical Review
Includes articles, including historiographic review articles, as well as book reviews and lists of recently published books in all areas of American history.

Films on Demand Streaming Video Collection

From Films for the Humanities and Sciences, the Films on Demand streaming video collection includes extensive titles concerning subjects in History, Political Science, and Psychology, as well as the Humanitites and physical Sciences. To browse the titles available in a particular subject area, select "Collections" and then the field of interest.

Google Scholar

Tomlinson Library has registered our journal holdings with Google Scholar. After setting up full text linking for CMU (see tab above), you can search by title, and Google Scholar will link you to the full text of articles available through our databases.

Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

To access Google Scholar, click on the Google Scholar link logo above
Click on the Settings link from the menu at the top of the page
Select Library links from the left-hand menu
Type “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links box
Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
Click Save to save this setting

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If the article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.