Background Information - ENGL 112: English Composition - Kellerby

Finding Background Info - To Explore or Refine Topics

World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-Gatherers to the Age of Globalization
Larousse Gastronomique
Call Number: Ref TX349 .L365 2009
In the Reference collection on the 1st floor
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
Available online - The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink.
The Oxford Book of Health Foods
Available online - The Oxford Book of Health Foods is a comprehensive, up-to-date, and scientifically based guide to a variety of foods associated with good health. From fruits, herbs, and grains to vitamins, minerals, and dietary supplements, this resource offers not only the claims associated with each food, but also the science behind these claims.
Oxford Dictionary of Food and Nutrition
Available online - Coverage spans types of food (including both everyday and little-known foods), nutritional information, vitamins, minerals, and key scientific areas including metabolism and genomics. This new edition includes expanded coverage of food safety and relevant organizations, and of the nutritional information included for many foodstuffs.
The Diner's Dictionary
Available online - Seasoned generously with literary wit, The Diner’s Dictionary is a veritable feast, tracing the origins and history of over 2,300 gastronomical words and phrases, including both common and exotic foods.
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
Available online - This Encyclopedia includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends in the area of food and agricultural ethics.
Encyclopedia of Cultivated Plants
Available online - Presents scientific, sociological, and demographic insight into the complex relationship between plants and humans across history.

(Jason Goecke via Flickr with Creative Commons)

Library Databases Covering Controversial Issues Around Food:

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences, History, Business, Health, Law, Politics.Analysis of current social issues from different points of view. Often includes overviews of the history and controversies around a topic.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health Sciences, Political Sciences, Law Enforcement Index with full-text to in-depth studies on current or controversial issues from 1991-current. Note: only 5 users at any given time.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History, Art, Literature Full-text essays, articles, and guides that present multiple sides of an issue.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Teacher Education, Social Sciences, Business, Political Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health Sciences, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Computer Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Music, Art & Design,
Theatre Arts Searchable collection of streaming videos, educational films, and video segments in the humanities & social sciences, science and math, business and health and medicine.

The Pew Research Center provides information and reports on "on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world." A great source of current statistics and analysis.

Government Statistics:

USA.gov - Data & Statistics
Use the word statistics in your search - Example: organic farms and statistics. This is a gateway to U. S. government statistics covering business & economics, the environment, family, home & community, health & nutrition, jobs & education, public safety, science & technology, travel & recreation. Also includes data in map form.
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. From the U. S. Central Intelligence Agency.