A Creative Writing Guide: Work/Careers

This database of contests from Poets & Writers is searchable by genre.

This listing of literary contests from NewPages is searchable by deadline.

This article by Robert Casper provides a helpful overview and advice on submitting work to poetry contests.

This database from the Association of Writers and Writing Programs is searchable by location, date, writing genre, and type of venue.

This guide from Poets & Writers provides an overview of the benefits of conferences, retreats, and workshops and offers advice on selection. Includes links to the P & W Conferences & Residencies Database and other online listings of writer communities and events.

Includes current information on the nature of these occupations, the skills required, employment, job outlook, earnings and major professional organizations. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Includes current information on the nature of these occupations, the skills and knowledge required, employment types, job outlook, & earnings. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Includes current information on the nature of these occupations, the skills required, employment, job outlook, earnings and major professional organizations. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Includes current information on the nature of technical writing as a profession, the skills required, employment, job outlook, earnings and major professional organizations. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Includes current information on the nature of editing as a profession, the skills required, employment, job outlook, earnings and major professional organizations. From the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

This guide from Poets & Writers Magazine covers how to determine which publications are right for your work, submission practices and other resources.

This guide from Poets & Writers covers the process of submitting a book manuscript to a publisher, book contracts, and other resources.

Includes a glossary of copyright terms and links to additional resources.

From the Academy of American Poets.

From the Review Review, a resource for reviews of literary magazines.

This resource from Poets & Writers includes profiles of literary magazines with a brief description of the publication,editorial policies, submission guidelines, and contact information.

This resource from Poets & Writers includes profiles of small presses.

Includes an overview of independent literary publishing and the Member Directory, a searchable database of CLMP presses and magazines.

Detailed profiles of literary magazines and journals.