EDUC 442: Integrating Literacy Across the Curriculum

A collection of over a million images from Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo

Digitized texts, art, photographs, maps, and other public domain material from the Library of Congress collections.

A gathering of millions of books, movies, software, music, and other public domain material from digital collections large and small.

An open access journal "dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas – focusing on works now fallen into the public domain, the vast commons of out-of-copyright material that everyone is free to enjoy, share, and build upon without restrictions."

A digital library of over 60,000 books in the public domain.

"Explore 901,707 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections."

The Digital Public Library of America makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience. It's one of the easiest access points for online primary source materials related to United States history.

"Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more."

Use NARA's catalog to search millions of archival items. To focus on on items that are available for online viewing and downloading, select "Available Online" or "Archival Descriptions with Digital Objects" from your results list.

Cultural heritage from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.

A collection of digitized books and documents in the public domain (mostly pre-1924 and government publications). Includes both primary and secondary sources.