Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Integrating Library Resources into D2L Courses

This guide provides techniques and tools for sharing content from some of our databases.

Welcome

This guide provides techniques and tools for sharing content from some of our databases. Use the tabs to the left for detailed information for each resource.

Adding Library Links to D2L, Web Sites & Syllabi

When a link to a library resource is added to a D2L course, syllabi or reading list, it needs to begin with the CMU proxy prefix followed by a stable URL (or permalink) in order for students to gain access from off-campus.

What is a proxy prefix?

Tomlinson Library uses a system called "EZ Proxy" to authenticate users off-campus. Here is the CMU EZ Proxy prefix added to a JSTOR stable URL (the highlighted part is the proxy prefix): 

https://ezproxy.coloradomesa.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/2118029

What is a permalink or stable URL?

A permalink (also called a persistent link or stable URL) is a URL that is intended to remain unchanged and less susceptible to resulting in a broken link. It is designed to provide access to an online article, database, streaming video or saved search.  

How is a permalink different from the URL in the address bar at the top of the browser?

The URL in the address bar may not have all of the information needed to work later which will result in broken links.

Can I upload PDFs of library articles to my D2L courses?

Permalinks should be used instead of PDFs for copyright compliance. Content in databases constantly changes, which will result in losing copyright permission to certain publishers. A permalink ensures accurate licensing and access to the content. 

How do I find the permalink or persistent link?

Many databases will provide permalinks to their content (articles, streaming video). See the tabs to the left to help locate permalinks in some of the databases. Unfortunately, not all databases provide permalinks, so if you have any questions or need help, please contact Tracie Seurer.