Skip to main content

MUSA 326 & 327: Music History and Literature I & II: Off-Campus Access

Suggested sources to use for Music History research.

Off Campus Access for Databases & Ebooks

When you access a library database from off-campus, you will be asked to login to verify that you are a CMU student.  Login with your MAVZone username and password.

If you have any trouble with this login, please contact the IT Help Desk.

Off-Campus Access for Ereserves & some Ebooks

When accessing ereserves from off campus, you will be asked to login to verify that you are a CMU student.  Login with your name and the Library number from your MAV card.

If you do not have a MAV card, please contact the Circulation Desk (970.248.1244 or circulation@coloradomesa.edu) to obtain your Library number.

Setting up Google Scholar for Off-campus Access


Searching Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.  Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

  1. To access Google Scholar, go to scholar.google.com
  2. Within Google Scholar, click on the Settings link in the top right corner (near the fly-wheel icon)
  3. On the next Scholar Settings page, select Library links from the left-hand menu 
  4. Type “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links search box 
  5. Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
  6. Click Save to save this setting.


Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article.  If the article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.  Google Scholar also tracks articles that have referenced a specific article and so can be used to follow a trail of scholarship on a topic. Under an article of interest, click on the “Cited by” link to see a list of the subsequent articles that have referenced it.