Google Scholar can be helpful with particularly narrow or specialized topics. It can provides a sense of what is available on a topic. Google Scholar can often show you what is available through the Tomlinson Library databases.
One note of caution: sometimes you will be taken to a publisher's website asking for money to gain access. Never pay for an article. Use Prospector or Interlibrary Loan for free access.
Be sure to check bibliographies, works cited and notes in the useful material for your research. They provide information on whether or not the material is considered scholarly and can also give you additional sources for your own research.
Use the same search techniques to find a specific source to see if the library provides access. If not, then Prospector or Interlibrary Loan for content you can't find through the library.
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
JSTOR has provided complimentary access during Covid to JSTOR Archives & Primary Source Collections until June 30, 2021.
Subject: Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, Nursing, Art, Earth Science, Engineering, Linguistics, Mathematics, Over 2700 journal titles from Elsevier in the fields of Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, and many other STEM fields. In addition, access to several thousand e-books including major reference works.
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.