LibGuides: EDUC 374: Exceptional and ELL: Articles

Finding Articles

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Teacher Education
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Education, Kinesiology Journal articles, reports, research documents, papers, and dissertations in the field of education (some full-text); from The U.S. Dept. of Education; 1966-current.
OmniFile Select This link opens in a new window
Subject: Academic Journals for all subjects Some full-text to multidisciplinary journals and magazines from 1994-current.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Health Index (some full-text) of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology, psychiatry, and psychological aspects of medicine, nursing, sociology, education, physiology, anthropology, and business; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social & Behavioral Sciences Peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference papers, and other sources on sociology from 1895-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences, History, Business, Health, Law, Politics.Analysis of current social issues from different points of view. Often includes overviews of the history and controversies around a topic.

Exceptional Children
Available online through the library
Teaching Exceptional Children
Available in the periodicals section of the library and online
The Journal of Special Education
Available in the library periodicals section and online
Gifted Child Quarterly
Available online through the library

For an inside perspective, newspaper articles can be a valuable source. They often include quotes and stories from people experiencing an issue.

For National news stories:

US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Subject: Business, Language, Literature, and Communication Contains full text of the New York Times (including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, LA Times, and the Washington Post.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Full-text regional, national & international newspapers, state and federal court cases and statutes, law reviews, and company profiles.

Local/Regional Newspapers:

Grand Junction Daily Sentinel (ask the Reference desk for full text beyond the free article limit)
Daily Sentinel Index 1900-2005
The Colorado Sun

Google Scholar

Tomlinson Library has registered our journal holdings with Google Scholar. After setting up full text linking for CMU (see tab above), you can search by title, and Google Scholar will link you to the full text of articles available through our databases.

Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

To access Google Scholar, click on the Google Scholar link logo above
Click on the Settings link from the menu at the top of the page
Select Library links from the left-hand menu
Type “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links box
Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
Click Save to save this setting

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If the article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.