Local Community Problems - ENGL 112: English Composition - Jurgens

Local Community Problems - Regional Information Sources

Grand Junction Unhoused Needs Assessment, Draft Nov. 2023
Using a community-level survey, focus groups, and interviews to gather data, this report engaged houseless service providers, community leaders, social support system, behavioral health providers, law enforcement, community members, and individuals who are or who have lived the experience of houselessness to identify effective policy and program models that can be tailored to fit the unique context and need in Grand Junction.
Grand Junction Unhoused Strategy
This report, the second in a two-part process (the first being the Grand Junction Unhoused Needs Assessment) to identify and prioritize strategy recommendations for the City of Grand Junction and partners to address the needs identified.
Grand Valley Coalition for the Homeless
Ten Year Plan to End Homelessness in the Grand Valley - This plan includes some data and analysis of the conditions around homelessness in the Grand Valley, identifying gaps in service areas. Also included are proposals for addressing teen homelessness particularly.
Homeless Point-in-Time Study Sheltered & Unsheltered Count
This 2023 report from the Colorado Coalition for the Homeless includes data for Mesa County.
Point in Time 2022 Sheltered Count Report
From the Colorado Coalition for the Homeless, includes data for Mesa County
Colorado State of Homelessness Report 2023
This report documents the state of homelessness in Colorado in 2023
Colorado Coalition for the Homeless
Provides statistics and reports on federal, state and local responses to homelessness. Includes some information on emerging patterns and trends and strategies and tactics which are proving successful.
National Alliance to End Homelessness
The National Alliance to End Homelessness is an organization that is dedicated to ending homelessness. This organization collects data, analyzes policy and makes program recomendations.
Karis: Providing A Safe Place for Western Slope Teens
The Karis homepage provides information on homeless teens in Mesa County and the history and services of The House shelter for homeless teens in Grand Junction.
Mesa County Community Health Needs Assessment 2024-2026
Addresses a range of health needs in the Grand Valley, including homelessness. Use Ctrl + F to search for a particular topic keyword.
Mesa County Health Needs Assessment 2021-2023
Published in May 2021. Mentions obstacles and recent initiatives for addressing homelessness.
Mesa County Community Health Needs Assessment 2018-2020
Includes a section on homelessness in Mesa County, with statistics on the demographics and health issues of the homeless population. Use Ctrl + F to search for a particular subject keyword.

Youth Homelessness Outreach Center Dedicated
Grand Junction Daily Sentinel article from December 2022 describing a dedication ceremony for the newly renovated Eidsness’ Center for Youth.
Helping the Homeless
This Daily Sentinel article from September 2017 describes local partnerships and initiatives for addressing homelessness in the Grand Valley.
Homelessness on the Rise for Kids in District 51
A 2016 Daily Sentinel Article about increasing numbers of homeless children in the school district, with comments from school officials and community organizations helping homeless youth.
Volunteers Step Up for Grand Valley's Homeless
November 2021 article addressing (and criticising) efforts to alleviate homelessness in the Grand Valley.

Grand Junction officials take heat for closing Whitman Park where city’s unhoused gathered
A 2023 article from Colorado Public Radio about the impact of closing a park that was popular with many homeless residents
Colorado Office of Homeless Youth Services Annual Report
This annual report from the Colorado Office of Homeless Youth Services provides statistics on youth homelessness in the state, analysis of the problem, and the efforts to address the needs of homeless youth. The annual report also details current priorities and new initiatives.
Office of Homeless Youth Services 2021 Snapshot
Reviews 2021 homeless youth statistics
Youth Homelessness in Colorado - 2020 Point in Time Youth Supplemental Report
From the Advisory Council for Homeless Youth & the Office of Homeless Youth Services - Point in Time Counts (PIT) are “unduplicated one-night estimates of both sheltered and unsheltered homeless populations."
ANALYSIS OF IMPEDIMENTS TO FAIR HOUSING CHOICE IN GRAND JUNCTION, COLORADO
This report by the City of Grand Junction details obstacles for finding affordable housing here.
Community Health Needs Assessment Report 2021-2023
Prepared by Mesa County Public Health; examines economic stability, education, healthcare and access, neighborhood and built environment, and social and community access.
No Right To Rest: Criminalizing Homelessness in Colorado
Produced by researchers at the University of Colorado Denver and the Homeless Out Loud organization.
Kids Count in Colorado - 2023 Report
From the Colorado Children’s Campaign, a nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy organization. Includes information on child poverty, health, education, housing, and overall well being, with comparisons between Mesa County and other areas in the state.
City of Grand Junction to Interview at Least 50 Homeless
December 2022 KKCO article
Health Care and Human Services - Mesa County
Provides an overview of the key health care providers and services in Mesa County

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

Mesa County Coroner's Report 2022
Includes a section on drug-related deaths in Mesa County in 2022

Drug-related Deaths in Mesa County 2010-2018
Report from the Mesa County Coroner's Office, released January 2019

DUI / Drug Statistics for Grand Junction
From the Grand Junction Police Department 2023, past years also available.
DUI / Drug Crime Statistics in Mesa County
From the Mesa County Sherrif's Office 2023

DUI/Drug Reports Drop in GJ
A 2021 infographic from The Daily Sentinel newspaper.

Overdose Awareness Day story
KJCT News story from August 2021, Noting overdose trends during the pandemic and an increase in overdose deaths in Mesa County 2019-2020.

A Community Confronts Addiction and Overdose
This September 2, 2019 Daily Sentinel article considers drug use and overdose deaths in Grand Junction, commemorating International Overdose Awareness Day.

Mesa County Substance Abuse & Opioid Response Group
The Mesa County Opioid Response Group, facilitated by Mesa County Public Health (MCPH), identifies strategies to address opioid use in Mesa County

Opiod Misuse Prevention Report, 2014-1018
A handout of current statistics concerning opioid abuse in Mesa County with prevention initiative information, from the Mesa County Department of Health and the Mesa County Opiod Response Group.

Mesa County Opioid Profile
This profile summarizes controlled substance prescriptions that Mesa County residents received through 2017, prescribing practices and patient behaviors, population-level healthcare encounters and deaths related to opioid overdose among Mesa County residents. This information is from several sources: The Colorado Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP), emergency department visit and hospital discharge databases and death certificates.
State of Colorado Substance Abuse Trend and Response Task Force
Annual report for 2021 on substance abuse trends and state-level efforts to address the problem.
Mesa County Community Health Needs Assessment 2018-2020
Includes a section on drug-related risk behaviors, including adolescent use of prescription opiods without a prescription.
Community Health Needs Assessment Report 2021-2023
Prepared by Mesa County Public Health; examines economic stability, education, healthcare and access, neighborhood and built environment, and social and community access.
Colorado Consortium for Prescription Drug Abuse Prevention
Reports on the extent of the opiod crisis in Colorado and efforts to address the problem. Also includes news stories from different perspectives around the problem.
Opioid Safety Resources
Resources and presentations from the 2020 Colorado Opioid Safety Summit - From the Colorado Hospital Association
Marijuana in Mesa County
A 2016 report from the Mesa County Department of Human Services.
Impacts of Marijuana Legalization in Colorado July 2021
A Report Pursuant to Senate Bill 13‐283 tracking the impact of the law.
Marijuana Legalization in Colorado: Early Findings March 2016
This report considers the impacts of legalization on marijuana use and abuse in Colorado.
Treatment Services - Mesa County Criminal Justice System
Substance abuse recovery services, treatment and education classes offered to adults from the community or the criminal justice system

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

Mesa County Department of Human Services - Adult Protection
Adult Protection (AP) serves as a program coordinating support for adults at risk for abuse.
Mandatory Reporting of At-Risk Elder Abuse, Caretaker Neglect, and Exploitation
Guidance on when and how to report abuse, caretaker neglect, and exploitation - from Mesa County Adult Protective Services
Colorado Coalition for Elder Rights & Abuse Prevention
Provides information to promote statewide understanding of elder/at-risk adult abuse and the rights and protections available to elder and at-risk adults.
Elder Abuse Mandatory Reporting Law
Overview of Colorado's Mandatory Reporting Law for Elder Abuse - from the Colorado Bar Association
Grand Junction - Census Bureau Quick Facts
Includes demographic statistics for Grand Junction.
Mesa County - Census Bureau Quick Facts
Includes demographic statistics for Mesa County.

Clinic to Offer Tips on Spotting Abused Adults
This 2013 Daily Sentinel article describes some common signs and stories of elder abuse.

Colorado Department of Adult Protective Services Annual Report
The annual report from the state department of Adult Protective Services provides statistics on abuse, reporting laws, as well as descriptions of at risk populations.

Caregivers Charged in 86-year-old's death
A 2021 article from The Daily Sentinel newspaper.

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

Health Care and Human Services - Mesa County
Provides an overview of the key health care providers and services in Mesa County
Colorado Hospital Data Reports
Reports from the Colorado Hospitals Association - Includes data from St. Mary's Hospital and Medical Center
Mesa County Community Health Needs Assessment 2018-2020
Includes a section on access to health care, including difficulty in getting timely appointments with a doctor and statistics on the prevalence of physical and mental health conditions in Mesa County.
Community Health Needs Assessment Report 2021-2023
Prepared by Mesa County Public Health; examines economic stability, education, healthcare and access, neighborhood and built environment, and social and community access.
"The Experts Were Wrong About the Best Places for Better and Cheaper Health Care"
This 2015 article from the New York Times takes a close look at health care spending IN GRAND JUNCTION, both Medicare costs and spending for the privately insured.

Hospital Merger Raises Questions of Future Care, Costs
March 2022 article on the potential impact of the merger between SCL (parent company for St. Mary's Hospital) and Utah-based Intermountain Healthcare on health care access and costs
Health Care Costs, Why are They So High?
2021 Infographic from The Daily Sentinel newspaper
Health Care Prices High in Colorado, Study Shows
Infographic from the Daily Sentinel, February 17, 2018.
Hospital Profitability Draws Concerns From Consumers, Policymakers in Western Colorado
Daily Sentinel Article from 2021 on Colorado state hospital profits, with reference to St. Mary's Hospital and Community Hospital in Grand Junction

Colorado Study of Health Cost by Geographic Region
Provides information on health care costs for particular regions/cities in Colorado, including Western Colorado and Grand Junction.
Health Insurance - Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Designed for consumer information, this resource details essential health insurance benefits and types of health insurance and reports on the implementation of the Affordable Care Act in Colorado. It also provides health cost data by geographic region.
"Is Grand Junction Really a Model for the Future of Health Care?"
This 2013 article from The Atlantic analyzes the health care structure in Grand Junction, with particular attention to care coordination and payment incentives that can decrease costs for some patients.
Kids Count in Colorado - 2023 Report
From the Colorado Children’s Campaign, a nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy organization. Includes information on child poverty, health, education, housing, and overall well being, with comparisons between Mesa County and other areas in the state.

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

Grand Junction Economic Partnership
Provides current economic indicators, reports on industry, demographic, and newsworthy trends.
Colorado Quarterly Business and Economic Indicators
From the Colorado Secretary of State - Includes an analysis of economic trends statewide. For up-to-date information, look for the most recent quarterly report.
Grand Junction - Economy at a Glance
From the U. S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes employment, unemployment, and wage statistics.
Mesa County Economic Update
Provides key economic indicators for Mesa County. Published quarterly.
Occupational Employment and Wages - Grand Junction
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2021
Mesa County Health Needs Assessment 2021-2023
Includes information on the economic stability of Mesa County as well as demographic trends.
Mesa County Community Health Needs Assessment 2018-2020
Includes a section the economy and work environment in Mesa County.
Colorado's Economy
An overview of Colorado's economy and economic regions, from the Colorado General Assembly, Legislative Council
Colorado Economy at a Glance
Provides a monthly indication of Colorado workforce and employment measures, from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

CMU Campus Security Report - 2023
The security report provides information about crime prevention and safety programs on campus, information for victims of crimes, fire safety and steps to be taken in case of an emergency. The security report also tracks reported crimes on and around campus over the last three years.
Statistics for Violent Crime in Grand Junction
From the Grand Junction Police Department 2023
Statistics for Property Crime / Robbery in Grand Junction
From the Grand Junction Police Department 2023
Statistics for Violent Crime in Mesa County
From the Mesa County Sherrif's Office 2023
Statistics for Property Crime in Mesa County
From the Mesa County Sherrif's Office 2023
City of Grand Junction Crime Statistics and Reports
Provides statistics and annual reports for the Grand Junction Police Department, Communications Center (handling 911 calls), and Traffic Accidents.

Local Crime Data Shows Mixed Results
A September 2020 article from The Daily Sentinel

Number and Rate of Arrests by Region
The number and rate of arrests in Colorado by metropolitan area. From the FBI's 2019 (most recent) Uniform Crime Report.

DA Discusses Felony Crimes
This Daily Sentinel article from February 2018 provides the District Attorney's analysis of an increase in felony crimes in Mesa County.
DUI/Drug Reports Drop in GJ
A 2021 infographic from The Daily Sentinel newspaper.
Violent Crimes Reported in GJ, Mesa County
A 2020 Infographic from The Daily Sentinel newspaper

Colorado Crime Statistics - Colorado Bureau of Investigation
A gateway for information on violent crime, hate crime, property crime, drug crime and motor vehicle crimes.

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

Mesa County Suicide Report 2022
To better characterize this critical issue in our community, Mesa County Public Health (MCPH) received a grant from
the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE) to pilot an active surveillance system in local emergency
departments to track suicide attempts for six months . Data has been collected each year.
Mesa County sees suicide rate increase for the second straight year
Colorado Public Radio article, July 2023
Suicide rate in Mesa County increases
KKCO news story, July 2023
Mesa County Community Needs Assessment 2021-2023
Provides mention of suicide prevention efforts in Mesa County.
Mesa County Community Health Needs Assessment 2018-2020
Includes a section on Suicide Prevention (pg. 12) with an infographic regarding suicide in Mesa County and efforts to address the problem.
Mesa County Coroner Annual Report
Includes statistics on suicide in Mesa County

Having an Infinite Mindset on Suicide Prevention
June 2022 Daily Sentinel article on suicide prevention efforts in the Grand Valley

"Annual Coroner's Report Shows High Suicide Rate in 2018"
A July 2019 KJCT news story on suicide statistics for 2018 from the Mesa County Coroner's Office.
"How One Colorado Town Is Tackling Suicide Prevention — Starting With The Kids"
October 2018 story from National Public Radio about teen suicide in Grand Junction.
"New Efforts to Stem Suicide Problem"
A March 2017 article from The Daily Sentinel concerning the suicide prevention efforts among government and heath agencies in Grand Junction.
"Suicide in Our Community: a Dark Open Secret"
This Daily Sentinel series of articles on Suicide in Grand Junction (published in 2012). Includes statistics & individual stories concerning the problem locally as well as resources for prevention, counseling, and recovery.
"Suicide Rate Stays Steady - Very High"
Grand Junction Daily Sentinel article from April 2016 on the high regional suicide rate and community suicide prevention efforts.
"District 51 ramps up suicide-risk response"
A June 2017 article on suicide assessments in School District 51.
"Suicide-prevention Walk Draws 800"
An April 2017 article from The Daily Sentinel concerning an event at CMU.
Suicides in Colorado
Mapped demographic statistics for suicides in Colorado from the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

Mesa County Community Needs Assessment 2021-2023
Includes updated statistics and reports on efforts to address teen pregnancy in Mesa County. Use Ctrl + F + pregnancy to find these sections.
Mesa County Community Health Needs Assessment 2018-2020
Provides updated information on teen pregnancy in Mesa County. Use Ctrl + F + pregnancy to find those sections.
Mesa County Youth Health
Resources for teens from the Mesa County Department of Health concerning pregnancy and sexual health.
Colorado Reproductive Health Facts
Statistics on teen preganancy in Colorado, with some demographic info. From the Office of Adolescent Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Youth Sexual Health in Colorado: a Call to Action
This report is the result of community conversations in Pueblo, Boulder, Aurora, Glenwood Springs and Greeley, and a survey of 52 Colorado counties.
Mesa County School Board pivot to approve plans for health center at Grand Junction High School
Colorado Public Radio story from June 2023. The clinic could provide reproductive health information.
"CU Boulder Study Finds That Better Access To Birth Control Boosts High School Graduation Rates"
May 2021 story from Colorado Public Radio
"Colorado teens pregnant during coronavirus face increased isolation and difficult decisions"
May 2021 article from The Colorado Sun about the experiences of pregnant teens in Mesa County

Parents Surveyed on What Leads to Teen Pregnancy
Daily Sentinel article from April 2011 concerning parent responses to a Mesa County Health Department survey.
Pregnancy Prevention Programs Will Likely Stay
A 2017 article from The Daily Sentinel newspaper regarding a bill in the Colorado State Legislature to provide funding to teen pregnancy prevention programs in Western Colorado.

Health Rankings: Teen Pregnancy Rates Decline, But Disparities Persist
A 2018 report from the Colorado Health Institute
Rural Teen Pregnancy Rates Drop in Colorado
A 2018 US News & World Report article

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

States find a downside to mandatory reporting laws meant to protect children
An April 2024 NPR news story about Manatory Reporting processes in Colorado and elsewhere.
The Colorado Department of Human Services Community Performance Center
Provides statistics for all Colorado counties on multiple aspects of child social services - Go to a statistical report like "Referrals of Child Abuse or Neglect" and then select the "County Comparison" tab to find the statistics for Mesa and other counties.
Mesa County Child Protective Services
Provides information on reporting child abuse, common signs of abuse, and links to a list of resources.

Childhood Sexual Abuse Survivors Share Their Stories
January 2020 article from the Daily Sentinel concerning a panel discussion on the CMU campus to address childhood sexual abuse.

Preventing & Reporting Child Abuse & Neglect - Colorado Department of Education
Offers guidance for school personnel regarding identifying and responding to abuse or neglect.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
A clearinghouse for statistics on child abuse and neglect as well as child welfare systems
Kids Count in Colorado - 2023 Report
From the Colorado Children’s Campaign, a nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy organization. Includes information on child poverty, health, education, housing, and overall well being, with comparisons between Mesa County and other areas in the state.
Child Maltreatment Fatality Annual Report 2022
Report from the Colorado Department of Human Services - Examines cases of child fatalities, near fatalities and incidents of abuse and neglect. Provides statistics and noteworthy trends, such as family stressors (drug abuse, unreported domestic abuse, mental illness) and prior history with children’s protective services. Also provides an analysis of the strengths and deficiencies in the child and family protection system in Colorado and offers recommendations for addressing the identified concerns.
Colorado Child Fatality Prevention System 2023 Report
A description of the activities of the Colorado Child Fatality Prevention System (CFPS) and CFPS State Review Team that occurred in Fiscal Year 2022, as well as recommendations to policymakers.
Child Abuse and Neglect Fatalities 2019: Statistics and Interventions
An March 2019 report from the National Children's Bureau.
Bullying & Harassment - Colorado School Safety Resource Center
Information and resources on the prevention of bullying
COVID-19 and How It's Increasing Danger for Colorado's Abused Kids
An April 2020 article from Westword Magazine on the impact of the CO state stay-at-home order for abused children.

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

Latimer House
Provides information on the support services Latimer House offers to victims of domestic violence in Mesa County.
Colorado Coallition Against Domestic Violence
Provides in-depth analysis of some of trends and nuances in domestic violence and also addresses challenges faced by domestic abuse shelters.
"Grand Junction Chamber Offers Domestic Violence Workshop"
A 2013 Daily Sentinel article with information on domestic violence in the Grand Valley.

Domestic Violence Incident Hits Close to Home
An article from the Daily Sentinel recounting a typical domestic violence incident in Grand Junction.

"Opinion: Violence against women is a key to understanding a wider array of problems"
July 2022 article in The Colorado Sun
Domestic Violence Program - Colorado Department of Human Services
The mission of DVP is to partner with communities in the prevention of domestic violence while promoting the safety and well-being of survivors through good stewardship of funding resources. The vision of DVP is to promote and sustain a culture free of domestic violence for all Coloradans.
COVID-19: How abusers are using the virus against their victims
An April 2019 article from Westword Magazine on how the CO state stay-at-home order has affected cases of domestic violence.

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

A Look at the Housing Market
May 2022 Infographic from The Daily Sentinel newspaper
Attainable Housing Issues and Barriers: Affordable Rental Housing
September 2022 article about ballot measures approved by the Grand Junction City Council concerning affordable housing
3 Affordable Housing Questions Headed to November Ballot
September 2022 article in The Daily Sentinel about ballot measures approved by the Grand Junction City Council concerning affordable housing

County Opts into Prop 123
Public Service Announcement from the Mesa County Department of Health on tapping into Proposition 123 Affordable Housing Finance Fund Programs. Links provide more details about the program.
"Colorado lacking housing affordability, pair of reports show"
July 2022 article reporting on current affordable housing shortage in Colorado

This Tax Can Help with Affordable Housing
A July 2022 editorial in The Daily Sentinel newspaper

Grand Junction Housing Authority
Provides information on the services and programs offered by the Grand Junction Housing Authority to help support affordable housing.
ANALYSIS OF IMPEDIMENTS TO FAIR HOUSING CHOICE IN GRAND JUNCTION, COLORADO
This report by the City of Grand Junction details obstacles for finding affordable housing here.
Grand Junction - Census Bureau Quick Facts
Includes demographic statistics for Grand Junction.
Mesa County - Census Bureau Quick Facts
Includes demographic statistics for Mesa County.
Vacancy & Rent Surveys - Colorado
Surveys of rent and vacancies statewide, for both single family and multi-family dwellings. Compares Grand Junction with other Colorado cities.
Foreclosure Reports and Statistics
Quarterly statistics from the Colorado Department of Local Affairs, Housing.
Kids Count in Colorado - 2023 Report
From the Colorado Children’s Campaign, a nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy organization. Includes information on child poverty, health, education, housing, and overall well being, with comparisons between Mesa County and other areas in the state.

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

Mesa County Community Needs Assessment 2021-2023
Includes updated statistics and project progress concerning poverty in Mesa County.
Mesa County Community Health Needs Assessment 2018-2020
Includes extensive information on poverty in Mesa County.
Poverty Statistics for Mesa County
Tables of a range of poverty measures for Mesa County (poverty levels, poverty status, use of food stamps, poverty and means of transportation)
Colorado Demographics of Poor Children
From the National Center for Children in Poverty, a non-partisan research center established at Columbia University that promotes the interests of children in low-income families.
"Growing up Poor - Childhood Poverty in Colorado"
A series of stories on Colorado Public Radio concerning childhood poverty in Colorado
"Poverty Brings Different Challenges for Colorado Rural, Urban Families"
Article from the Denver Post concerning differences in rural and urban poverty in Colorado.
Grand Junction - Census Bureau Quick Facts
Includes demographic statistics for Grand Junction.
Mesa County - Census Bureau Quick Facts
Includes demographic statistics for Mesa County.
Kids Count in Colorado - 2023 Report
From the Colorado Children’s Campaign, a nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy organization. Includes information on child poverty, health, education, housing, and overall well being, with comparisons between Mesa County and other areas in the state.

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

Reports on Discrimination and Prejudice - Pew Research Center
Includes recent statistics and demographic reports concerning race-based discrimination.
What Black Americans say is needed to overcome racial equality
A 2023 Pew Research article presents results from a 2021 survey about what is needed to create more racial equity.
Grand Junction - Census Bureau Quick Facts
Includes demographics for Grand Junction by race or ethnic background.
Mesa County - Census Bureau Quick Facts
Includes demographics for Mesa County by race or ethnic background.

Grand Junction Sees Week of Protests in the Wake of George Floyd's Murder
June 7, 2020 article from The Daily Sentinel
Public Defenders Join Black Lives Matter Protests
June 9, 2020 article from The Daily Sentinel
GJPD Chief Issues Statement on Death of George Floyd, Interactions with Community Members
June 1, 2020 article from The Daily Sentinel

News footage of Black Lives Matter activists and community members interacting with GJ police chief
June 1, 2020 video from The Daily Sentinel
Grand Junction Mosque Sign Vandalized
A September 2019 article from The Denver Post.

CMU, District 51 Reckoning with Accounts of Racism
Daily Sentinel article from July 2021 concerning accusations of racism from CMU and District 51 students
Community Organization Celebrates Black History Month with CMU, District 51
February 2022 article from The Daily Sentinel newspaper

Hate Crimes in Colorado
Yearly statistics from the Colorado Bureau of Investigation
NAACP
Reports on the efforts of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People to address race-based discrimination in politics, criminal justice, education, economic opportunity and health care. Includes news updates and and an annual report on advocacy initiatives.
Hate Crime - Crime in America 2019 Report
Crimes reported to the FBI motivated by biases based on race, gender, gender identity, religion, disability, sexual orientation, and ethnicity.
FBI Hate Crime Data Explorer
Hate Crime in the United States Incident Analysis, can sort data by bias type, offense type, etc.
Black Americans differ from other U.S. adults over whether individual or structural racism is a bigger problem
Discusses the results of a 2021 survey about perceptions of structural v. individual racism in the US
Deep Divisions in Americans’ Views of Nation’s Racial History – and How To Address It
August 2021 article from The Pew Research Center concerning recent public opinion surveys.
Roughly half of Hispanics Have Experienced Discrimination
A 2016 report from the Pew Research Center

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

Grand Valley Transit
The routes offered by the Grand Valley Transit bus system.
Regional Transportation Planning Office
The Regional Transportation Planning Office conducts studies of transportation needs in Mesa County and conducts planning for future development. Click on the "2040 Regional Transportation Plan" link to see results of recent transportation studies and considerations for future planning.
Grand Valley Transit pass and schedules for CMU Students
Describes the free bus pass available for CMU students and routes connecting the main campus with the WCCC campus and other parts of the city.

Grand Valley Transit Considering Service Changes
A December 2022 article from The Daily Sentinel
Grand Valley Transit Suspending DASH Service
A 2020 article describing service changes due to COVID-19 pandemic impact on riders.
Grand Valley Transit Changing Service Routes, Beginning Today
This 2016 article from the Daily Sentinel newspaper reports on route changes to improve reliability and travel time.
Transit Union Seeking Wage Support from Public, Riders
February 16, 2019 article from the Grand Junction Daily Sentinel.
GV Transit Bus Drivers Consider Strike
February 16, 2019 article from the Grand Junction Daily Sentinel.

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

Search the Library Catalog for Environmental Assessments
Environmental assessments for particular areas can be found through the library catalog. Type in a specific place (or just "Colorado") and the words "environmental assessment."
Colorado River Water Conservation District
Western Colorado agency concerned with the "protection, conservation, use, and development of the water resources of the Colorado River basin for the welfare of the District, and to safeguard for Colorado all waters of the Colorado River to which the state is entitled."
Colorado River Basin Focus Area Study
A 2018 USGS report on water conditions for the Colorado River Basin, covering evapotranspiration losses, snowpack, ground water to steams, and water use.
The Colorado River Is Shrinking. See What’s Using All the Water
A May 2023 article from the New York Times reporting on use of Colorado River water
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Includes reports and regulations concerning air and water quality, sustainability, recycling management, energy development, and reclamation efforts in Colorado.
Colorado Parks and Wildlife Division
Includes regulations and policy as well as information on conservation, habitat, and invasive species programs.
U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service - Ecological Services - Mountain-Prairie Region
Includes current research and programs concerning regional ecology. One of the regional field offices is in Grand Junction.
Environmental Protection Agency - Colorado
From the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency, reports and projects in Colorado.
Bureau of Reclamation Projects in Colorado
Profiles Bureau of Reclamation projects and facilities in Colorado. The Western Colorado Area Office is in Grand Junction.
High Country News
A regional newspaper covering issues facing the Western United States, including environmental issues.

Citing these background sources

(Click the link above and follow guidelines for Digital Files)

ENGL 112: English Composition - Jurgens

Local News

U. S. Statistics

Local Community Problems - Regional Information Sources