Interpret - ENGL 262 - American Literature - McClain - LibGuides at Colorado Mesa University

Literary Criticism Research

Criticism from Literary Journals

Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts, Literature Biographical information on an author and excerpts of criticism of their work, from the first published critical commentaries to the present. Search “Named Work” for a specific work. Includes Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, & Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Theatre Arts Index with some full-text to journal articles, books, and dissertations in literature, folklore, dramatic arts, literary criticism, literary theory, and modern languages and linguistics; 1920-current; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Literature Online(LION) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Theatre Arts, Literature Literary criticisms, biographies of authors, reference resources, plus works of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the sixth century to the present day.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism and original essays and interviews.

Searching Google Scholar

Tomlinson Library has registered our journal holdings with Google Scholar. After setting up full text linking for CMU (see next section), you can search Google Scholar and see the full text of articles available through our databases.

Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

To access Google Scholar, click on the Google Scholar link logo above
Click on the Settings link from the menu at the top of the page
Select Library links from the left-hand menu
Type “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links box
Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
Click Save to save this setting

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If an article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.

Reviewed for WCAG 2.1AA compliance July 2024

For more on library accessibility, visit https://www.coloradomesa.edu/library/about/accessibility-in-the-library.html

ENGL 262 - American Literature - McClain

Critical Overviews

Essays of Literary Criticism - Books and eBooks

Literary Criticism Research

Criticism from Literary Journals

Searching Google Scholar