LibGuides: ENGL 471: British Romanticism: Home

John Constable - 'Harnam Ridge, Salisbury' 1820 or 1829 Tate Gallery, shared under Creative Commons CC-BY-NC-ND (3.0 Unported)

Criticism & Interpretation - Article Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Theatre Arts Index with some full-text to journal articles, books, and dissertations in literature, folklore, dramatic arts, literary criticism, literary theory, and modern languages and linguistics; 1920-current; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Literature Online(LION) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Theatre Arts, Literature Literary criticisms, biographies of authors, reference resources, plus works of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the sixth century to the present day.
Gale Literary Portal (Artemis) This link opens in a new window
Subject: Literature Searches Literature Criticism Online, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Authors. Great way to search multiple literary sources at the same time. Includes Children's Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Something About the Author.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art & Design, Music, Theatre Arts, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Indexing (some full-text) of journal articles, books, reference works, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations in the humanities from 1925 to present; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
JSTOR has provided complimentary access during Covid to JSTOR Archives & Primary Source Collections until June 30, 2021.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Subject: Art, Language, Literature, Communication, Music Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in literature and criticism, visual and performing arts, history, political science, cultural studies, and related disciplines from 1990-current.

Google Scholar

Tomlinson Library has registered our journal holdings with Google Scholar. After setting up full text linking for CMU (see next section), you can search Google Scholar and see the full text of articles available through our databases.

Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

To access Google Scholar, click on the Google Scholar link logo above
Click on the Settings link from the menu at the top of the page
Select Library links from the left-hand menu
Type “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links box
Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
Click Save to save this setting

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If an article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.