Stem cells are the focus of intense interest from a growing, multidisciplinary community of investigators with tools for isolating and characterizing these elusive cell types. This volume, which features contributions from many of the world's leading laboratories, provides a broad and authoritative basis for understanding the biology of stem cells and the excitement about their potential for clinical exploitation. It is a work of reference for investigators in embryology, haematology, and neurobiology, and their collaborators in the emerging field of regenerative medicine.

Biology is an extensive subject that has undergone a vast expansion and so comprises not only such conventional aspects as taxonomy, morphology, biochemistry, functional physiology, and ecology, but also the rapidly expanding new fields of cell biology and molecular biology. This dictionary attempts to provide a comprehensive coverage of biological terms, recognising also that the interface between biology and other sciences, such as chemistry and physics as well as medicine, is becoming less distinct and includes terms from these other areas.

This book is intended especially for teachers and students of biology and other natural sciences, environmental sciences and medicine. College students, amateur biologists, journalists, translators and civil service officers will also find this a useful tool.

The Encyclopedia of Human Biology, Second Edition provides complete coverage of the vast subject area of human biology--no other reference work available offers such a detailed and comprehensive treatment of the subject. Including more than 670 articles in 37 different biological fields, this fully revised edition features one of the most renowned editorial Advisory Boards ever assembled. The Second Edition offers more than 75% new, updated, and revised content including approximately 150 new articles. In keeping with the first editions high standards, all articles have been subjected to rigorous peer review to ensure consistent presentation of the highest quality. Unlike other encyclopedias which use numerous fragmented entries to treat a subject, the Encyclopedia examines each subject in individual, cohesive articles. Arranged alphabetically for easy access, each article--about ten pages in length-contains a brief outline, glossary of unusual terms, a short concise definition of the subject, an in-depth development of the topic, recent bibliography, extensive cross references to other articles in the Encyclopedia , and tables and illustrations including more than 100 color plates.

A universal landmark in medicine ever since Drs. Henry Gray and H.V. Carter published the first edition in 1858, "Gray's Anatomy" now celebrates its 150th anniversary. The new 40th Edition sets a new world standard for accuracy, clarity, and clinical relevance.