LibGuides: Jules Verne: Resources

Research Approaches

Biography of Jules Verne
From The Dictionary of Literary Biography

The Mask of the Prophet: The Extraordinary Fictions of Jules Verne by Andrew Martin
on order

original book cover of Vingt Mille Lieues Sous Les Mers - Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea

The Times Digital Archive
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The LondonTimes, a valuable resource for 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785 onward. Includes articles concerning Jules Verne and his work.

The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
Oxford University Press, 1995
ebook
The Transformation of the World: A Global History of the Nineteenth Century by Jürgen Osterhammel; Patrick Camiller (Translator)
Princeton University Press, 2014
ebook
The Fin-de-Siècle World by Michael Saler, editor
Routledge, 2014
ebook

The Voyage of the Nautilus - Interactive map by Concavenator

Jules Verne and the Invention of the Future by Laurence Bergreen
on order
Mariner Books, 2025
Stimulating Imaginations
Documentary addressing the influence of Jules Verne's work on the development of space travel
Fiction to Fact: Under the Sea
Documentary film addressing the influence of Jules Verne's work on deepsea exploration
The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction by Mark Bould (Editor); Sherryl Vint (Editor); Adam Roberts (Editor); Andrew Butler (Editor)
Routledge, 2016
ebook
Science Fiction: a Guide for the Perplexed
Bloomsbury Academic, 2014
ebook
How Space Physics Really Works: Lessons from Well-constructed Science Fiction
Springer, 2023
ebook
Into the Heart of Our World: A Journey to the Center of the Earth by David Whitehouse
Call Number: QE509 .W49 2016

Pegasus Books, 2016

The Nautilus and the devilfish by Philipp Dirksen

The Nautilus and the Devilfish by Philipp Dirksen

No Earth from Nowhere: Jules Verne’s Critique of Terraforming
A 2022 article by S. Egholm Lund, S. from the journal Dix-Neuf, vol. 26, no.3, pages 169–185.
Coal and Fuel Alternatives in the Novels of Jules Verne
A 2024 article by Anne O'Neil-Henry in Nineteenth-Century French Studies, vol. 52 no. 3, p. 257-272.

The Ecocriticism Reader
Call Number: PN81 .E24 1996
Ecocriticism
Call Number: PR143 .G37

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Subjects: History, Literature Biographical information for authors who died 1800-1899. Includes excerpts of criticism of their work, from the first published critical commentaries to the present. Search “Named Work” for a specific work.
JSTOR
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
MLA International Bibliography
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Theatre Arts Index with some full-text to journal articles, books, and dissertations in literature, folklore, dramatic arts, literary criticism, literary theory, and modern languages and linguistics; 1920-current; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Humanities International Index
Subjects: Art & Design, Music, Theatre Arts, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Indexing (some full-text) of journal articles, books, reference works, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations in the humanities from 1925 to present; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Greenfile
Subjects: Agriculture, Biological Sciences Covers the various aspects of human impact on the environment such as: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Some full-text peer-reviewed articles from 1950-current.

Books at Other Libraries

Prospector is a shared catalog of the major libraries in Colorado and Wyoming, providing access to over 30 million items. Use the "Request It" button to request materials for delivery to Tomlinson Library (usually within 3-5 business days).

WorldCat searches holdings in 10,000 libraries worldwide. Select the "Request This Item" link to request a particular item.

Jules Verne

Verne Texts

Research Approaches

Books at Tomlinson Library

Books at Other Libraries