LibGuides: MASS 494: Advanced Theory and Research: Finding Articles

Recommended Databases

The following databases are great for humanities, film, journalism, and other topics, and are a solid place to start your search. For help searching the databases, check out our Search Tips.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Communication and mass media studies peer-reviewed journals and trade publications from 1945-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citations styles.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art & Design, Music, Theatre Arts, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Indexing (some full-text) of journal articles, books, reference works, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations in the humanities from 1925 to present; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
JSTOR has provided complimentary access during Covid to JSTOR Archives & Primary Source Collections until June 30, 2021.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times (Ireland), San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Subject: Business, Language, Literature, and Communication Contains full text of the New York Times (including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, LA Times, and the Washington Post.

Using Google Scholar

A particularly useful research tool is Google Scholar. Google Scholar is especially helpful if you know the name of an article you'd like to find or if you have one very relevant article and you'd like to find more; just copy and paste the article name into the Google Scholar search bar.

screenshot of Google Scholar result of an article titled "(Un)Just transitions and Black dispossession: The disposabilityof Caribbean 'refugees' and the political economy of climate justice". To the right of the article title, the "full view" hyperlink is highlighted in yellow. Beneath the article information is "cited by 11" and "related articles," both highlighted in yellow From there you should see the original article (if available); you can also select Cited By to get a list of all other articles that have referenced this article or select Related Articles to find articles on similar topics. Articles can be accessed by clicking the links on the right.