Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPCH 101 & 102 - Resources for Interpersonal Communication and Speechmaking

Finding Books, Articles & Media through Tomlinson Library

Search books and articles

Finding Background Info - To Explore or Refine Topics

A good starting place, encyclopedias can provide general background information and may suggest directions for research.

  • Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia 
  • Oxford Reference OnlineFull-text subject-focused Encyclopedias and Dictionaries from Oxford University Press

Note: Accommodates only 1 user at a time.

 

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - Encyclopedias on Historical, Social, and Scientific Issues

 

(Jason Goecke via Flickr with Creative Commons)

These resources provide helpful background and history, statistics, and current trends around controversial topics:

The Pew Research Center provides information and reports on "on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world." A great source of current statistics and analysis.

 

Government Statistics:

For a local or regional perspective on your topic:

Local/Regional Newspapers

Historical Information

Statistics

Films on Demand Streaming Video Collection

Includes streaming video of many contemporary and historical speeches, including TED Talks and footage from The WPA Film Library Speeches Collection