LibGuides: MGDA 229: History of Animation: History of Animation Resources

History of Animation

Here are a selection of periodicals of possible interest to animation history students, available electronically through the CMU Library:

Cineaste (1990-current): Presents reviews of and essays about international films.
Entertainment Weekly (1993-current): Weekly information on the entertainment industry featuring television programming, motion pictures, videos, new albums, entertainment for children and book reviews.
American Cinematographer (1998-current): Covers feature films, television, commercials, music videos, digital video, new equipment, DVD, book releases, and much more.
Cinema Journal (1966-current): Access 1966-2011 (JSTOR) or recent issues (1999-current; Project Muse).
Film Quarterly (1958-2012): Access 1958-2011 (JSTOR) or more recent issues (2002-2012; Literature Online). Do you love all types of movies? Are you eager to encounter new ways of thinking about them? Then Film Quarterly is the journal for you! Since 1958, Film Quarterly has been publishing substantial, peer-reviewed writing on motion pictures, earning a reputation as the most authoritative academic film journal in the United States. Continues Quarterly of Film, Radio, and Television.
Hollywood Quarterly (1945-2012): Access 1945 to 1951 and 1958 to 2011 in JSTOR. Access 2002-2012 in Literature Online. Continued by Quarterly of Film, Radio, & Television.
Quarterly of Film, Radio, and Television (1951-1957): Continues Hollywood Quarterly; available via JSTOR. Continued by Film Quarterly.

We also have 2012-current issues of Advertising Age available in print at Tomlinson Library. Come browse anytime!

Pixar short films collection. Volume 1
Call Number: Popular Movie 269

ISBN: 0788874020

Publication Date: 2007

Collection of animated short films from Pixar. Includes:

The adventures of Andre? & Wally B. (1984) / [presented by] the Lucasfilm Computer Graphics Project ; concept/direction, Alvy Ray Smith
Luxo Jr. (1986) / Pixar ; story/design/models/animation, John Lasseter
Red's dream (1987) / Pixar ; written, directed and animated by John Lasseter
Tin toy (1988) / Pixar ; direction, animation and story, John Lasseter
Knick knack (1989) / Pixar Animation Studios ; a film by John Lasseter ... [et al.]
Geri's game (1998) / Pixar Animation Studios ; written & directed by Jan Pinkava ; produced by Karen Dufilho
For the birds (2001) / Pixar Animation Studios ; directed by Ralph Eggleston ; produced by Karen Dufilho
Mike's new car (2002) / Walt Disney Pictures presents a Pixar Animation Studios film ; directed by Pete Docter, Roger Gould ; produced by Gale Gortney ; original story, Pete Docter ; story, Jeff Pidgeon, Roger Gould, Rob Gibbs
Boundin' (2004) / Pixar Animation Studios ; written and directed by Bud Luckey ; produced by Osnat Shurer
Jack-Jack attack (2005) / Walt Disney Pictures presents a Pixar Animation Studios film ; written and directed by Brad Bird ; produced by Osnat Shurer ; story, Teddy Newton ... [et al.]
One man band (2006) / Pixar Animation Studios ; written and directed by Andrew Jimenez & Mark Andrews ; produced by Osnat Shurer
Mater and the ghostlight (2006) / Walt Disney Pictures ; Pixar Animation Studios ; directed by John Lasseter ; produced by Mark Nielsen ; original story by Joe Ranit, John Lasseter, Dan Scanlon
Lifted (2007) / Pixar Animation Studios ; written and directed by Gary Ryostrom ; produced by Katherine Sarafian ; story, Jeff Pidgeon, Max Brace.
Pixar short films collection. Volume 2
Call Number: Popular Movie 805

ISBN: 786936822175

Publication Date: 2012

Includes:

Your friend the rat (2007) / written & directed by Jim Capobianco ; producer, Ann Brilz ; executive producers, Brad Bird, John Lasseter, Brad Lewis
Presto (2008) / written & directed by Doug Sweetland ; produced by Richard Hollander ; executive producers, John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton
BURN-E (2008) / produced by Galyn Susman ; directed by Angus MacLane ; executive producers, Andrew Stanton, John Lasseter ; story, Angus MacLane, Andrew Stanton, Derek Thompson
Partly cloudy (2009) / written & directed by Peter Sohn ; produced by Kevin Reher ; executive producers, John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton
Dug's special mission (2009) / directed by Ronnie Del Carmen ; produced by Galyn Susman ; executive producers, Pete Docter, John Lasseter
George & A.J. (2009) / written and directed by Josh Cooley ; produced by Galyn Susman ; executive producers, Pete Docter, Jonas Rivera
Day & night (2010) / written & directed by Teddy Newton ; produced by Kevin Reher ; executive producer, John Lasseter
Hawaiian vacation (2011) / directed by Gary Rydstrom ; produced by Galyn Susman ; executive producer, John Lasseter ; written by Gary Rydstrom, Jason Katz, Erik Benson
Air Mater (2011) / directed by Rob Gibbs ; executive producers, John Lasseter, Kevin Reher ; produced by Kim Adams ; story, John Lasseter ... [and others]
Small fry (2011) / directed by Angus MacLane ; executive producers, John Lasseter, Kevin Reher ; produced by Kim Adams ; written by Angus MacLane
Time travel Mater (2012) / directed by Rob Gibbs ; executive producers, John Lasseter, Kevin Reher ; produced by Kim Adams ; story, John Lasseter, Rob Gibbs, Scott Morse
La luna (2011) / written & directed by Enrico Casarosa ; produced by Kevin Reher ; executive producer, John Lasseter.

Media History Digital Archive -- Includes...

Global Cinema Collection: Periodicals from France, Germany, India, Italy, the United Kingdom, and Switzerland, plus a couple Spanish-language titles. Publication dates range from 1904-1957. Important titles include Cine-Journal and Cinéa (France, 1908-1912 and 1921-1923, respectively) and Illustrated Films Monthly (UK, .1913-1914).
Early Cinema Collection: Includes extensive runs for important titles such as Moving Picture World (1907-1919) and Variety (1905-1941), as well as select holdings for titles like Film Fun (1916-1926), Motion Picture News (1911-1913) and Motion Picture Weekly (1916-1918).
Fan Magazine Collection: Fan magazines gave audiences a way to experience the magic of the movies beyond the theatre. The magazines also gave producers a way to promote their stars and coming films. You can observe a shifting in emphasis across the historical span of this collection. Stars in this collection include Photoplay (1914-1943), Hollywood (1934-1943), Modern Screen (1930-1960), and Motion Picture [Magazine] (1914-1941).
Hollywood Studio System Collection: Features access to important industry publications such as The Film Daily (1918-1948), The Hollywood Reporter (1933-1934), Variety (1905-1941), Motion Picture News (1913-1930), Motion Picture Daily (1931-1960), Motion Picture Herald (1931-1948), Cinema Progress (1935-1939), Talking Picture Magazine (1929-1934, Universal Weekly (1923-1926), Hollywood Filmograph (1929-1934), and Motion Picture Art Portfolio (1927).
Technical Journals Collection (1916-1965): Cinema is subject to ongoing technological change. Although 35mm has been the standard for filmmakers for over 100 years, improvements in film stocks, sound recording, color reproduction, cameras, lenses, lighting and other hardware have been rapid and continuous. Relevant titles in this collection include: American Cinematographer (1921-1942) and International Photographer (1929-1941).

TIME -- The Vault (1923-): Since its founding in 1923, TIME Magazine has been one of the most authoritative and informative guides to what is happening in the worlds of health and science, politics, business, society and entertainment.

LIFE -- Digitized in Google Books: LIFE Magazine is the treasured photographic magazine that chronicled the 20th Century. It now lives on at LIFE.com, the largest, most amazing collection of professional photography on the internet. Users can browse, search and view photos of today’s people and events. They have free access to share, print and post images for personal use.

New York Magazine (1975-1997) -- Digitized in Google Books: New York magazine was born in 1968 after a run as an insert of the New York Herald Tribune and quickly made a place for itself as the trusted resource for readers across the country. With award-winning writing and photography covering everything from politics and food to theater and fashion, the magazine's consistent mission has been to reflect back to its audience the energy and excitement of the city itself, while celebrating New York as both a place and an idea.

The World History of Animation by Stephen Cavalier
Call Number: TR897.5 .C38 2011

ISBN: 9780520261129

Publication Date: 2011-09-09

This book tells the genre's 100-year-old story around the globe, featuring key players in Europe, North America, and Asia. From its earliest days, animation has developed multiple iterations and created myriad dynamic styles, innovative techniques, iconic characters, and memorable stories. The author's account is organized chronologically and covers pioneers, feature films, television programs, digital films, games, independent films, and the web. A time line of films and innovations acts as the narrative backbone, and must-see films are listed along with synopses and in-depth biographies of individuals and studios. The book explains the evolution of animation techniques, from rotoscoping to refinements of cel techniques, direct film, claymation, and more.
Animation under the Swastika by Rolf Giesen; J. P. Storm
Call Number: NC1766.G3 G54 2012

ISBN: 9780786446407

Publication Date: 2012-07-27

This study explores Adolf Hitler and Joseph Goebbels' efforts to establish a German cartoon industry to rival Walt Disney's and their love-hate relationship with American producers, whose films they studied behind locked doors.
French Animation History by Richard Neupert
Call Number: NC1766.F8 N48 2011

ISBN: 9781444338362

Publication Date: 2011-04-19

Animation began in France, and for over 100 years French animators have remained devoted to their own artistic and technical traditions. Today, France is the third largest producer of animation in the world, and French animation is truly a unique product of the country's rich cultural, economic, and technical background. French Animation History is the first book dedicated exclusively to this vital element in the history of cinema, and reveals how French animators have forged their own visual styles, narrative modes, and technological innovations to construct a distinct national style, while avoiding the cliche?s and conventions of Hollywood's commercial cartoons. During the past decade, scores of important French animated films have been restored and released on DVD from archival prints, making many of the titles mentioned in the book available for classroom use for the first time. The book includes more than 80 color and black and white images from the most influential films, from early silent animation to the internationally renowned Persepolis. French Animation History is essential reading for anyone interested in the study of French animation, illuminating the exceptional place France holds within the history of world cinema.
Of Mice and Magic by Leonard Maltin
Call Number: PN1997.5 .M3 1980

ISBN: 0070398356

Publication Date: 1980-06-01

In this revised and updated edition of Of Mice and Magic, Leonard Maltin not only recreates this whole glorious era from the silent days through the Hollywood golden age to Spielberg's An American Tail, he traces the evolution of the art of animation and vividly portrays the key creative talents and their studios. This definitive history of American animated cartoons also brings Maltin's many fans up to date on the work being done today at the Walt Disney and Warner Bros. studios, and other developments in the world of animation. Drawing on colorful interviews with many of the American cartoon industry's principals, Maltin has come up with a gold mine of anecdotes and film history. Behind the scenes were genius animators and entrepreneurs such as Walt Disney, Chuck Jones, Tex Avery, Mel Blanc, and a legion of others. In all, Maltin has put together a glorious celebration of a universally loved segment of Americana. Book jacket.
Stop-Motion Animation by Barry JC Purves
Call Number: TR897.6 .P87 2014

ISBN: 9781472521903

Publication Date: 2014-10-23

top-motion Animation teaches the skills required to develop as a creative stop-motion animator. It explores how all the elements of film-making - camera work, design, colour, lighting, editing, music and storytelling - come together in this unique art form. With advice on how to use the particular types of movement, characters and stories that typify stop-motion, this book is packed with tips and suggestions to help you get the most out of your stop-motion films, accompanied by illustrations and case studies demonstrating how film-making masters through the years have used it in feature films, short films and television. This second edition also introduces and explores two of the biggest innovations of recent years - at opposite ends of the industry. At the top-end, for film-makers with serious budgets, there is 3D printing in the creation of replacement parts for stop-motion characters while at the amateur/student end of the industry there are a variety of cheap, but effective, apps that can turn turn a smartphone into a mini stop-motion studio. The new edition also includes an extended project in each chapter, covering storytelling techniques, selecting an appropriate style, developing a character, set building and lighting, creating a performance and adding music. These projects combine to lead you through the creation of your first one-minute stop-motion animation.
A Century of Stop-Motion Animation by Ray Harryhausen; Tony Dalton
Call Number: TR897.5 .H37 2008

ISBN: 9780823099801

Publication Date: 2008-09-30

Examines the history of this film genre, from its origins in feature animation in the 1890s through the present day, with insight on the techniques used throughout the years, developments in technology, stills, photos, sketches, storyboards, and more.
Japanese Visual Culture by Mark W. MacWilliams; Frederik L. Schodt (Foreword by)
Call Number: NC1764.5.J3 J37 2008

ISBN: 9780765616012

Publication Date: 2008-04-15

Born of Japan's cultural encounter with Western entertainment media, manga (comic books or graphic novels) and anime (animated films) are two of the most universally recognized forms of contemporary mass culture. Because they tell stories through visual imagery, they vault over language barriers. Well suited to electronic transmission and distributed by Japan's globalized culture industry, they have become a powerful force in both the mediascape and the marketplace.This volume brings together an international group of scholars from many specialties to probe the richness and subtleties of these deceptively simple cultural forms. The contributors explore the historical, cultural, sociological, and religious dimensions of manga and anime, and examine specific sub-genres, artists, and stylistics. The book also addresses such topics as spirituality, the use of visual culture by Japanese new religious movements, Japanese Goth, nostalgia and Japanese pop, "cute" (kawali) subculture and comics for girls, and more. With illustrations throughout, it is a rich source for all scholars and fans of manga and anime as well as students of contemporary mass culture or Japanese culture and civilization.
Cartoons by Giannalberto Bendazzi; Anna Taraboletti-Segre (Translator)
Call Number: NC1765 .B4213 1994

ISBN: 0253311683

Publication Date: 1995-02-01

Cartoons-- One Hundred Years Of Cinema Animation provides the first comprehensively detailed history and critique of cinema animation produced around the world. It is the long-awaited English language edition of a reference book which has already been acclaimed as a classic work of scholarship, it its Italian and French editions, on the marvelous and exciting subject of animated cinema.
Cartoon Modern by Amid Amidi
Call Number: NC1766.U5 A47 2006

ISBN: 0811847314

Publication Date: 2006-08-17

Between the classic films of Walt Disney in the 1940s and the televised cartoon revolution of the 1960s was a critical period in the history of animation. Amid Amidi, of the influential Animation Blast magazine and CartoonBrew blog, charts the evolution of the modern style in animation, which largely discarded the "lifelike" aesthetic for a more graphic and often abstract approach. Abundantly found in commercials, industrial and educational films, fair and expo infotainment, and more, this quickly popular cartoon modernism shared much with the painting and graphic design movements of the era. Showcasing hundreds of rare and forgotten sketches, model boards, cels, and film stills, Cartoon Modern is a thoroughly researched, eye-popping, and delightful account of a vital decade of animation design.
The Films of Pixar Animation Studio by James Clarke
Call Number: NC1766.U53 C53 2013

ISBN: 9781842439371

Publication Date: 2013-12-01

Almost 30 years since its inception, Pixar movies continue to demonstrate and celebrate how emotionally engaging the animated film can be. This is a book about why animation moves the heart and the mind. The Films of Pixar Animation Studio offers the reader and animation enthusiast a one-stop handbook to the studio's work, discussing each film in great detail. Each Pixar feature film is explored in terms of creative choices made by the films' producers, writers, directors and animators from the first bright idea through to final realisation.
The Pixar Touch by David A. Price
Call Number: NC1766.U52 P75 2008

ISBN: 9780307265753

Publication Date: 2008-05-13

A look at the company that forever changed the film industry, "The Pixar Touch" is a story of technical innovation that revolutionized animation--and ended up a multibillion-dollar success.--From publisher description.
To Infinity and Beyond! by Ed Catmull (Foreword by); Leslie Iwerks (Contribution by); Steve Jobs (Foreword by); Karen Paik; John Lasseter (Foreword by)
Call Number: NC1766.U52 P5837 2007

ISBN: 9780811850124

Publication Date: 2007-11-01

In 1986, gifted animator John Lasseter, technology guru Ed Catmull, and visionary Steve Jobs founded Pixar Animation Studios. Their goal: create a computer animated feature, despite predictions that it could never be done. An unprecedented catalog of blockbuster films later, the studio is honoring its history in this deluxe volume. From its fledgling days under George Lucas to ten demanding years creatingToy Story to the merger with Disney, each milestone is vibrantly detailed. Interviews with Pixar directors, producers, animators, voice talent, and industry insiders, as well as concept art, storyboards, and snapshots illuminate a history that is both definitive and enthralling.
The CG Story by Christopher Finch
Call Number: TR897.5 .F56 2013

ISBN: 9781580933575

Publication Date: 2013-12-03

"The Art of Walt Disney" author Christopher Finch tells the story of the pioneers of CG films.
The Artist's Complete Guide to Facial Expression by Gary Faigin
Call Number: N7573.3 .F35 1992

ISBN: 9780823016280

Publication Date: 1992

Explains and illustrates the role of the muscles of facial expression for artists, focusing on the action of muscles in the forehead and brows, eyes, and the mouth and chin, with detailed renderings that show the six basic emotional patterns in action.
Faces Around the World: a cultural encyclopedia of the human face by Margo DeMello
Call Number: (eBook)

ISBN: 9781598846188

Publication Date: 2012-02-01

This book provides a comprehensive examination of the human face, providing fascinating information from biological, cultural, and social perspectives. * A complete bibliography of sources and index of subjects. * Includes 100 images, numerous sidebars, and interesting "pop-out" quotes related to the face.
Anime Aesthetics by Alistair D. Swale
Call Number: (eBook)

ISBN: 9781137463357

Publication Date: 2015-08-10

Japanese animation has been more broadly recognised and given fulsome academic commentary over the last decade. However, there is arguably a need for a more philosophically consistent and theoretically integrated engagement as emphasized by scholars such as Mitsuhiro Yoshimoto. While there are notable exceptions within the current literature, and these works highlight significant issues when considered as presenting an aesthetic theory of animation, Anime Aesthetics covers the key thinkers of contemporary aesthetic theory commonly adopted in relation to media (Deleuze, Ranciere, Zizek) and aims to reground reflection on anime within a more specifically aesthetic philosophical tradition, particularly drawing on recent scholarship on the art theory of R.G. Collingwood.
The Uncanny Valley in Games and Animation by Angela Tinwell
Call Number: TR897.7 .T597 2015

ISBN: 9781466586949

Publication Date: 2014-12-10

This book is based on a series of empirical studies the author conducted to establish how aspects of facial expression and speech may be manipulated to control the Uncanny Valley in character design. It presents a novel theory that goes beyond previous research in that the cause of the Uncanny Valley is based on a perceived lack of empathy in a character. This book makes an original, scholarly contribution to our current understanding of the Uncanny Valley phenomenon and fills a gap in the literature by assessing the biological and social roots of the uncanny and its implications for computer-graphics animation.
Pixar and the Aesthetic Imagination:animation, storytelling, and digital culture by Eric Herhuth
Call Number: (eBook)

ISBN: 9780520966055

Publication Date: 2017-01-10

In Pixar and the Aesthetic Imagination , Eric Herhuth draws upon film theory, animation theory, and philosophy to examine how animated films address aesthetic experience within contexts of technological, environmental, and sociocultural change. Since producing the first fully computer-animated feature film, Pixar Animation Studios has been a creative force in digital culture and popular entertainment. But, more specifically, its depictions of uncanny toys, technologically sublime worlds, fantastic characters, and meaningful sensations explore aesthetic experience and its relation to developments in global media, creative capitalism, and consumer culture. This investigation finds in Pixar's artificial worlds and transformational stories opportunities for thinking through aesthetics as a contested domain committed to newness and innovation as well as to criticism and pluralistic thought.
America Toons In by David Perlmutter
Call Number: (eBook)

ISBN: 9781476614885

Publication Date: 2014-03-18

Animation has been part of television since the start of the medium but it has rarely received unbiased recognition from media scholars. More often, it has been ridiculed for supposedly poor technical quality, accused of trafficking in violence aimed at children, and neglected for indulging in vulgar behavior. These accusations are often made categorically, out of prejudice or ignorance, with little attempt to understand the importance of each program on its own terms. This book takes a serious look at the whole genre of television animation, from the early themes and practices through the evolution of the art to the present day. Examining the productions of individual studios and producers, the author establishes a means of understanding their work in new ways, at the same time discussing the ways in which the genre has often been unfairly marginalized by critics, and how, especially in recent years, producers have both challenged and embraced this marginality as a vital part of their work. By taking seriously something often thought to be frivolous, the book provides a framework for understanding the persistent presence of television animation in the American media--and how surprisingly influential it has been.

Pixar short films collection
Call Number: Popular Movie 805

Publication Date: 2012

Disney and Pixar present an incredible new collection of 12 short films, featuring multiple Academy Award nominees (best short film, animated: Presto, 2008; Day & Night, 2010; La Luna, 2011) and a host of family favorites. Join the celebration of imagination with this must-own collection, packed with unforgettable animation, fantastic stories, and captivating characters.
Sing
Call Number: Popular Movie 813

Publication Date: 2017

A koala impresario stages a grand singing competition for the world's animals in order to save his elegant theater and bring it back to its former glory.
Zootopia
Call Number: Popular Movie 814

Publication Date: 2016

Zootopia is a city like no other that is comprised of habitat neighborhoods like ritzy Sahara Square and frigid Tundratown, it's a melting pot where animals from every environment live together. But when optimistic Officer Judy Hopps arrives, she discovers that being the first bunny on a police force of big, tough animals isn't so easy. Determined to prove herself, she jumps at the opportunity to crack a case, even if it means partnering with a fast-talking, scam-artist fox, Nick Wilde.
A Monster Calls
Call Number: Popular Movie 831

Publication Date: 2014

Twelve-year-old Conor, dealing with his mother's illness, a less-than-sympathetic grandmother, and bullying classmates, finds a most unlikely ally when a monster appears at his bedroom window. Ancient, wild, and relentless, the monster guides Conor on a journey of courage, faith, and truth.
Life, Animated
Call Number: Popular Movie 834

Publication Date: 2016

At three years old, a chatty, energetic little boy named Owen Suskind suddenly stopped speaking and disappeared into autism. Almost four years passed and the only thing that seemed to engage Owen were Disney films. Then one day his father donned one of his son's puppets--Iago, the wisecracking parrot from Aladdin--and asked 'What's it like to be you?' Suddenly, Owen responded to his father using dialogue from the movie ... Life, Animated tells the remarkable story of how Owen found a pathway to language and a framework for making sense of the world through Disney animated films. By evocatively interweaving classic Disney sequences with ve?rite? scene's from Owen's life, the film explores how identification and empathy with characters like Simba, Jafar and Ariel create a context for him to understand his feelings and interpret reality
Tower
Call Number: DVD 900

Publication Date: 2017

On August first, 1966, a sniper rode the elevator to the top floor of the iconic University of Texas Tower and opened fire, holding the campus hostage for 96 minutes in what was a previously unimaginable event. This documentary combines archival footage with animated re-enactments of the dramatic day, based entirely on first person testimonies from witnesses, heroes, and survivors, in a seamless and suspenseful retelling of the unfolding tragedy.
The history of computer animation Vol. 1, Computer animation magic
Call Number: DVD 906

Publication Date: 2008

Explores the furthest reaches of computer animation using hypnotic works of over 100 production companies and artists from around the world.
The history of computer animation Vol. 2, Computer dreams
Call Number: DVD 907

Publication Date: 2008

This award-winning one-hour trip into the world of digital animation gives form to all the fancies of the imagination in shapes and images that excite the eye and mind.
The history of computer animation Vol. 3, Computer visions
Call Number: DVD 908

Publication Date: 2008

Join Ray Tracy, the world's first computer created television host, on a behind-the-scenes journey through a universe of images and stories created on the cutting edge of computer animation.
Fritz the Cat
Call Number: Popular Movie 815

Publication Date: 2002

Animated film about Fritz, an alleycat student in New York City during the 1960s who seeks new and varied experiences. He and his friends begin their lusty adventures in Washington Square Park, where cruising for chicks is the neighborhood pastime.
Moana
Call Number: Popular Movie 816

Publication Date: 2017

A mythic adventure set around 2,000 years ago across a series of islands in the South Pacific. The film follows the journey of a spirited teenager named Moana as she meets the once-mighty demi-god Maui, and together they traverse the open ocean, encountering enormous fiery creatures and impossible odds.
Walt Before Mickey
Call Number: Popular Movie 819

Publication Date: 2015

Walt Disney visited New York in an attempt to secure a deal for his company, but failed. On a train ride back with his wife Lillian Disney he created the concept of a mouse named Mortimer, which would become Mickey Mouse. Upon arriving in Los Angeles, Walt Disney gave the draft to Ub Iwerks who then completed the design for Mickey Mouse.
Kubo and the Two Strings
Call Number: Popular Movie 824

Publication Date: 2016

A young boy named Kubo must locate a magical suit of armor worn by his father in order to defeat a vengeful spirit from the past.
Walt Disney On the Front Lines
Call Number: Popular Movie 835

Publication Date: 2003

See never-before-seen Disney war effort productions, including exclusive declassified material, training, propaganda and educational films. Includes "Victory Through Air Power," Disney's 27th animated classic. First hand accounts of the work at Disney.
The Private Snafu collection
Call Number: Popular Movie 836

Publication Date: 2012

Animated caricature, Private Snafu, is used to communicate to American soldiers the reasons why the things they were asked to do by the military were sound and how best to handle particular situations. Warner Bothers, Theodor Geisel, Frank Capra, and producer Chuck Jones were partners in this character's creation and the production of these animated short films. Some other animated short films are also included.
Cartoons for victory!
Call Number: Popular Movie 837

Publication Date: 2005

Many of these shorts, produced during World War II, have not been seen in over 60 years. These films now serve as a document to the social attitudes of time, including government propaganda.
More Cartoons for Victory!
Call Number: Popular Movie 838

Publication Date: 2012

This collection of World War II-era shorts is the long-awaited companion to “Cartoons for Victory,” our previous set of rare WWII propaganda animated shorts produced in the United States and around the world. This new collection features the “A Few Quick Facts” series produced for the Army-Navy Screen Magazine. We’ve also included animation from Nazi Germany and fascist Italy. Many of the films have been transferred from original master materials at the US National Archives; most have never been available to the general public in any format!