LibGuides: Aviation Technology: Home

Search Aviation Resources available through Tomlinson Library @ WCCC

Use the search box below to simultaneously search a variety of online library resources available to WCCC students & faculty through Tomlinson Library. When prompted, login with your MAVZone account to access resources from home.

Aviation eResources

Tomlinson Library has hundreds of eBooks available to WCCC students and staff. To access an eBook from the list below, click on the title and login with your MAVzone account when prompted.

eBook Collections Available through Tomlinson Library:

SpringerLink

EBSCO eBooks

Advances in Sustainable Aviation
Publication Date: 2017
This book provides different engineering, management, economic solutions and methodologies regarding sustainable aviation, giving readers a great sense of how sustainable aviation works at the “systems” level.
Aviation in the Digital Age
Publication Date: 2020
All of the topics discussed in this book – from sovereignty to cybercrime, and from drones to the identification of passengers & privacy – are profoundly affected by algorithms; so are air traffic services and aeronautical communications.
Sustainable Aviation
Publication Date: 2019
This book highlights the latest research in the field of Sustainable Aviation. In recent decades, there have been considerable improvements in aircraft efficiency and noise reduction. However, with the demand for both passenger and freight transportation expected to increase significantly in future years, the aviation sector is becoming a growing source of environmental problems and a major contributor to global warming.
Commercial Aviation in the Jet Era and the Systems That Make It Possible
Publication Date: 2019
This book discusses the multiple systems that make commercial jet travel safe and convenient. The author starts by tracing the evolution of commercial jets from the Boeing 707 to the double decker Airbus A380.
Aviation Turbulence
Publication Date: 2016
Anyone who has experienced turbulence in flight knows that it is usually not pleasant, and may wonder why this is so difficult to avoid. The book includes papers by various aviation turbulence researchers and provides background into the nature and causes of atmospheric turbulence that affect aircraft motion, and contains surveys of the latest techniques for remote and in situ sensing and forecasting of the turbulence phenomenon.
International Aviation Law for Aerodrome Planning
Publication Date: 2020
The objective of this book is to provide ICAO, States, competent authorities and aerodrome operators with a comprehensive overview of legal challenges related to international aerodrome planning. Answers to derived legal questions as well as recommendations thereafter shall help to enhance regulatory systems and to establish a safer aerodrome environment worldwide.

What is a database?

A database is an electronic collection of published works, either full text documents (articles, video, music), citations, or abstracts of articles (or chapters in books). Most databases have a full-text option you can choose so that only full text articles (available to you) will appear in the search results.

Tomlinson Library subscribes to over 100 research databases that contain journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on general and specific disciplines, as well as access to streaming music and video.

These are just a few of the databases especially useful for research in Aviation Technology. When prompted, login with your MAVzone account to access from home.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.Learn how to use Academic Search Complete.
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window Subject: Biological Sciences Full-text science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, biographies and videos from 1945-current.
Science Direct Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window Subject: Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, Nursing, Art, Earth Science, Engineering, Linguistics, Mathematics, Over 2700 journal titles from Elsevier in the fields of Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, and many other STEM fields. In addition, access to several thousand e-books including major reference works.

A-Z List of Databases

Journals can be highly technical in language and concepts and are about the latest findings in a field. They often include original research and are written by scholars, scientists, or other experts. Many journal articles are peer-reviewed, meaning they have undergone rigorous evaluation by a panel of other scholars or researchers.

When prompted, login with your MAVZone account to access resources from home.

Aviation (2003-present)
Provides a forum for discussion & debate relating to all areas of aviation: flight physics; aerostructures; propulsion; aircraft avionics, systems & equipment; flight mechanics; integrated design & validation; air traffic management; airports; etc.
Aviation in Focus: Journal of Aeronautical Sciences (2015-present)
Aviation Litigation Quarterly (2009-current)
Provides information about aviation matters, including litigation techniques and tactics, innovative use of demonstrative and computer-generated evidence, insurance coverage and defense, product liability, etc.
Aviation History (a996-present)
Articles and book reviews for those interested in the history of aviation.

WCCC Liaison Librarian

Tracie Seurer

Email Me

Contact:

tseurer@coloradomesa.edu

970-248-1520