Research Tools - ENGC 090 - Bertrand - LibGuides at Colorado Mesa University

Getting Started

A good starting place, encyclopedias can provide general background information and may suggest directions for research.

Inventions and Inventors
Call Number: T 20 .I59 2002 v.1-v. 2
Available in print in the Reference area on the 1st floor of the Library
Scientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors
Available online - Profiles of inventors and innovators in the sciences and Mathematics
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History
Available online - Includes profiles inventors and inventions in American History.
Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
Considers topics relating to the process of creativity and innovation, from a wide variety of perspectives (e.g., economics, management, psychology, anthropology, policy, technology, education, the arts)

Search for books, ebooks, and video documentaries on inventors and inventions:

The databases below include articles from scholarly journals and professional magazines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Learn how to use Academic Search Complete.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History History-related books, periodicals, documents, videos, biographies, photos, and maps; some full-text from 1917-current.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences, History, Business, Health, Law, Politics.Analysis of current social issues from different points of view. Often includes overviews of the history and controversies around a topic.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History, Art, Literature Full-text essays, articles, and guides that present multiple sides of an issue.

Reviewed for WCAG 2.1AA compliance July 2024