Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

KINE 342 - Sport Law and Risk Management

This research guide is designed for KINE 342 - Sport Law and Risk Management in particular as well as for legal research in general.

Legal Resources

 

DICTIONARY OF LAW.  9th ed.   (2018)

            Online – Oxford Reference

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF LAW AND ECONOMICS. (2019)

              Online – Springer

BLACK'S LAW DICTIONARY: Definitions of the Terms and Phrases of American and English Jurisprudence, Ancient and Modern.  6th ed.

Ref KF 156 B53 1990

MELLINKOFF'S DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN LEGAL USAGE

Ref KF 156 M45 1992

OXFORD DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN LEGAL QUOTATIONS

Ref KF 159 S53 1993

MODERN DICTIONARY FOR THE LEGAL PROFESSION

8000 modern terms and concepts from all types of professions that the legal profession may encounter.  Includes legal terms only when they cross over into another profession.

Ref KF 156 R42 1993

            BIEBER’S DICTIONARY OF LEGAL ABBREVIATIONS.  4th ed.

A comprehensive list of abbreviations used in legal encyclopedias, law dictionaries, law reporters, law reviews, and citators.

Ref KF 246 B46 1993

            BIEBER’S DICTIONARY OF LEGAL CITATIONS.   4th ed.

                        Ref KF 246 P73 1992

AMERICAN JURISPRUDENCE 2d  (AmJur 2d)

An encyclopedic subject approach to all fields of American law.  Articles collect, examine and summarize the broad principles of American law and provide direct leads to supporting cases, related annotations, forms, proofs and trial techniques.  Updated with pocket supplements through 2012.

KF 154 A42

WEST’S ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AMERICAN LAW.  12 volumes

Presents in encyclopedia form the broad spectrum of the American legal system.  Includes definitions, legal principles and concepts, landmark documents, accounts of famous trials, historical movements and events, and biographies of prominent individuals.  Volume 11 has documents that form the foundation of American law, Civil Rights Movement, and law and society.

Ref KF 154 W47 1998

 

 

UNITED STATES CODE SERVICE LAWYERS EDITION.

Annotated edition of US CODE.  Updated by pocket supplements through 2012..

Ref KF 62 1972 L38

U.S. STATUTES AT LARGE

Federal laws as passed by Congress since 1874.

Ref GovDoc AE 2.111:(vol/pt)

COLORADO REVISED STATUTES

Reprinted yearly at end of legislative session with supplements as needed for special sessions.

Ref KFC 1829 C65 (year)

SESSION LAWS OF COLORADO

Colorado laws as passed by each session of the General Assembly since 1879.  Cited by year and house/senate bill number.

Ref KFC 1825 A226 (year)

LEXIS NEXIS UNI

Online database service providing variety full-text access to legal information – legal news, state and federal case law, law reviews, and state and federal codes.

Online:   Lexis Nexis Uni 

NATIONAL SURVEY OF STATE LAWS   6th ed.

Chart format allows state by state comparison of current state law on 42 topics in 8 categories.  Includes business and consumer laws, criminal laws, education laws, employment laws, family laws, general civil laws, real estate laws, and tax laws.

Ref KF 386 N38 2008

 

LEXIS NEXIS UNI

Online database service providing variety full-text access to legal information – legal news, state and federal case law, law reviews, and state and federal codes.

Online:   Lexis Nexis Uni 

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT DECISIONS: AN INDEX TO THEIR LOCATIONS   (1976)

Index to excerpts and complete decisions along with discussions of the cases.  Includes US Reports citation.

Ref KF 101.6 A5

DECISIONS OF THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

Provides summaries of every important decision of the Supreme Court by term.  Cumulative Case Table covers 1963-64 term through 1996-97 term Library has 1969 to 2007/2008 session.

Ref KF 101 L499 (yr)

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT REPORTS.  LAWYERS EDITION.

US Supreme Court cases decided 1754-1955.

Sample citation:  40 L ed 188  or  40 L.ed 188

Storage KF 101 U584

 

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT REPORTS.  LAWYERS EDITION 2ND.

US Supreme Court cases decided 1956-1976.  (covers US 352-433)

Sample citation:  28 L Ed 2nd 484  or  28 L.Ed.2d 484

Storage KF 101 U586

UNITED STATES REPORTS

US Supreme Court cases decided since 1977.  (covers US 434-present).  Volumes 434-552 are in storage. Volumes 553 to present are in Reference.

Sample citation:  499 US 380

Ref GovDoc JU 6.8:(vol)

DIGEST OF UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT REPORTS. LAWYERS EDITION

Index to cases decided by the US Supreme Court.  Arranged by broad subject headings with an index to decisions, annotations and the digest entries.  Also includes table of cases.  Updated with pocket supplements to v.20.

Ref KF 101.1 D5

 

            WASHLAW WEB    

Contains links to both federal and state case law and legal research through May 31, 2019.  Also covers international law. 

Internet:  www.washlaw.edu

            FINDLAW

Web site covering cases and codes – Supreme Court since 1893 plus US Federal Courts.  Includes legal forms.

Internet:  lawcrawler.findlaw.com

            LEGAL INFORMATION INSTITUTE: SUPREME COURT COLLECTION

                        Opinions of the court since May 1990.

                        Internet:  www.law.cornell.edu/supct/

            U S FEDERAL DISTRICT COURT CASE LAW

                        Internet:  www.law.justia.com

 

COLORADO REPORTS

Cases decided by the Supreme Court of the Colorado Territory and the State of Colorado 1864-1930 (v.1-86)

Sample citation:   83 Colo. 43             or         262 P. 907

Ref KFC 1845 A2

COLORADO REPORTER

Colorado higher court (appeals and supreme) cases reported in THE PACIFIC REPORTER. SECOND SERIES  since 1931 and THIRD SERIES since 2000. Library has through 3rd series v.284 (2012).

Sample citation:  622 P.2d 571

Ref KFC 1847 C65

WEST'S COLORADO DIGEST 2d

Index to state and federal cases originating in Colorado decided since 1964.  Arranged by broad subject headings with a descriptive word index.  Gives citation to court decisions and brief synopsis rather than the complete decision.  Updated with pocket supplements to 2012.

Ref KFC 1857 W47 1987

           

 

 

AMERICAN LAW REPORTS ANNOTATED  (ALR)

Leading decisions from all state and federal jurisdictions with annotations on the main points in the cases.  Now in its 5th series.  A users guide is available at the Reference Desk.

Sample citation:          1st:   175 ALR 683

2nd:     98 ALR2d 349

            3rd:      50 ALR3d 716

4th:      47 ALR4th 262

5th:      39 ALR5th 283

Storage KF 132 A5126                   (4th)

Storage KF 132 A51284                 (5th)    (v.1-99)

            HISTORIC U.S. COURT CASES 1690-1990: AN ENCYCLOPEDIA

171 essays discuss major legal issues and concerns illustrated by about 200 Supreme Court and lower court cases.  Divided into 6 sections – 5 are broad subject areas and the sixth historical periods.

                        Ref KF 385 A4 J64 1992

            STATUTORY HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES

                        CIVIL RIGHTS                                      KF 4743.8 S34 1970

                        INCOME SECURITY                           KF 3643.8 S84 1970

                        LABOR ORGANIZATION                   KF 3381 K67 1970

COLOR ME JUSTICE  (1969)   2 vols.

Includes unabridged text of the majority opinion and all concurring and dissenting opinions for 26 landmark cases decided by US Supreme Court 1953-1968 (Warren Court). 

KF 4748 M3