Tomlinson Library has registered our journal holdings with Google Scholar. After setting up full text linking for CMU (see next section), you can search Google Scholar and see the full text of articles available through our databases.
Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:
Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If an article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.
To determine if your sources are scholarly (usually peer reviewed), you will need to do some research. Keep in mind that while databases contain many scholarly sources, not all sources in a database are scholarly. Here are a few things to consider when evaluating a source:
| Author | Publisher | Audience | Content | Timeliness |
|
Are author names provided? |
Who is the publisher of the information? | Who is the intended audience? | Are sources cited within the text? | When was the item published? |
|
Are the authors' credentials provided? |
Is the publisher an academic institution, scholarly or professional organization? | Is the language specific to those with knowledge of a specific discipline? | If the sources are cited, where are those sources from? | How frequently is the journal published? |
| Are the credentials relevant to the information? | What is the purpose for publishing this information? | Are conclusions based on evidence? | How recently was the web page updated? | |
| Are the authors connected to professional organizations? | What is the process for getting published (peer-review)? | Is there a bibliography or works cited? | Have other publications referenced this source? |
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
