LibGuides: Evaluating Sources: Where to find news sources

Library databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Full-text regional, national & international newspapers, state and federal court cases and statutes, law reviews, and company profiles.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times (Ireland), San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC), and others.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication In Proquest Newspapers Search the New York Times, including the Book Review and Magazine from 1980-current.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Subject: Business, Language, Literature, and Communication Contains full text of the New York Times (including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, LA Times, and the Washington Post.

Historical newspaper databases

19th Century US Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects: US History, Political Science
19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Colorado Historical Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: History Open Access Resource Historic Colorado newspaper database with full-text articles, graphics, letters to the editor, and advertising. Covers 44 newspapers from 1859-1923.
Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Social & Behavioral Sciences, History The (London) Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning and objective coverage of world events since its creation 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication. The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, a valuable resource for 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785 onward.

Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."