The National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in South Korea contains an inspiring mix of print, design, sculpture, photography, new media and other large-scale installations. From Joseph Beuys to Warhol and Nam June Paik, the collection includes an international lineup of established artists, contemporary Korean artworks and emerging names.
The Museum has in its possession approximately 2,00,000 works of exquisite art of diverse nature, both Indian and foreign and its holdings cover a time span of more than five thousand years of our cultural heritage.
"The National Museum of China covers Chinese history from 1.7 million years ago to the end of the Qing Dynasty in 1911. Notable works include the “Houmuwu” Rectangle Ding, a rectangular bronze sacrificial vessel made in the late Shang Dynasty, the heaviest piece of ancient bronze ware in the world, and a Han Dynasty jade burial suit laced with gold thread. It is one of the largest museums in the world, and the second-most visited art museum in the world, just after the Louvre."
"When Japan was defeated in the Second World War, Korea regained its independence. Upon liberation in 1945, Korea took over the Joseon Government-General Museum and renamed it the “National Museum” (國立博物館). At that time, the museum’s organization and exhibitions were insignificant compared to what exists today. Nevertheless, the museum played a significant role in restoring the nation's damaged cultural pride and correcting false historical images of Korea."
"The National Palace Museum has a collection of nearly 700,000 pieces of ancient Chinese imperial artifacts and artworks. The collection encompasses 8,000 years of history of Chinese art including Jade, paintings, bronzes, and porcelain that were formerly held in the Forbidden City of Peking."
"The Tokyo National Museum is the oldest and largest art museum in Japan, and one of the largest art museums in the world. At the museum, you’ll find a collection of artwork and cultural objects from Asia, ancient and medieval Japanese art, and Asian art along the Silk Road."
This link takes you to the search for the Met's extensive collection of Asian art. I have the Geographic Location set to Asia, but you can use the Geographic Location and other filters to narrow down the results further.
Scroll to the bottom of the page to see highlighted pieces from the collection. "The MFA’s Asian art collection reflects the creative achievements of artists on the continent of Asia from 4000 BCE to the present. The collection of more than 115,000 objects includes works from Japan, China, Korea, South and Southeast Asia, and the Islamic world."