Reference Sources - ENGL 355 - Shakespeare - LibGuides at Colorado Mesa University

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary provides etymology for English words, recording how a word has been used and changed over time. Refer to the OED to understand the meaning of a word in its historical context. Tomlinson Library has the print OED (20 volumes) in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor - PE 1625 .O87 1989.
A Shakespeare Glossary
A glossary of words in Shakespeare's work with definitions reflecting the context of a particular play.

Reference Sources on Shakespeare

The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
Online

One of the most comprehensive reference work available on Shakespeare's life, times, works, and global legacy. In addition to the authoritative A-Z entries, it includes nearly 100 illustrations, a chronology, a guide to further reading, a thematic contents list, and special feature entries on each of Shakespeare's works.
A Companion to Shakespeare
Call Number: PR2910 .C66 1999
One of the Blackwell Companions to Literature and Culture, this volume provides valuable contextual information for the social, political, literary, and theater worlds in which Shakespeare lived and worked.
The New Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare
Online

Covers recent scholarship and criticism on Shakespeare's biography and the transmission of his texts, the contexts of genre, culture, race, sexuality, gender, politics and religion. Essays on performance survey the latest digital media as well as stage and film. Throughout the volume, contributors discuss Shakespeare in a global as well as a national context, a dramatist with a long and constantly mutating history of reception and performance.
A Feminist Companion to Shakespeare
Call Number: PR2991 .F45 2001
Online and in print

Includes feminist perspectives on Shakespeare's work, in contexts of race, sexuality, social economy, religion, and politics. Also includes chapters on appropriation, adaptation, and performance.
A Companion to Shakespeare and Performance
Call Number: PR3091 .C64 2005
Considers historical and contemporary performance of Shakespeare's plays.
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare and Contemporary Dramatists
Online

This Companion introduces the distinctive drama of playwrights from Shakespeare's time, including Kyd, Marlowe, Middleton, Jonson and Webster. The book also covers Shakespeare as a collaborator and the difficult question of co-authorship.