LibGuides: BIOL 414: Freshwater Ecology: Locating Scientific Articles

Scholarly Journal Articles via Library Databases

Use the following databases to help you find peer-reviewed articles on your topic:

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Health Sciences Index to peer-reviewed journal articles and conference proceedings for life science and biomedical research from 1969-current; links to some full-text.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Physical & Environmental Sciences Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Science Direct Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Subject: Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, Nursing, Art, Earth Science, Engineering, Linguistics, Mathematics, Over 2700 journal titles from Elsevier in the fields of Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Biochemistry, Computer Science, Social Science, and many other STEM fields. In addition, access to several thousand e-books including major reference works.
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Agriculture, Biological Sciences Covers the various aspects of human impact on the environment such as: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more. Some full-text peer-reviewed articles from 1950-current.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Agriculture Open Access Resource AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access), a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), consists of two subsets of records. The first contains citations for journal articles that include abstracts. The second consists of bibliographic records describing monographs, serials, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world. AGRICOLA includes but is not limited to resources available in the library. The database contains 5,200,000+s records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

Using Google Scholar

A particularly useful research tool is Google Scholar. Google Scholar is especially helpful if you know the name of an article you'd like to find or if you have one very relevant article and you'd like to find more; just copy and paste the article name into the Google Scholar search bar.

screenshot of Google Scholar result of an article title. To the right of the article title, the "full view" hyperlink is highlighted in yellow. Beneath the article information is "cited by 11" and "related articles," both highlighted in yellow From there you should see the original article (if available); you can also select Cited By to get a list of all other articles that have referenced this article or select Related Articles to find articles on similar topics. Clicking Full View will take you to the full text of the article.