ENGL 330: Women in Literature and World Thought - Archival research

"The Black Women Writers Project aims to make primary sources on Black women and gender expansive writers more easily discoverable by compiling information from global repositories. Pages are updated annually and new pages are added monthly."

"The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture in Duke's Rubenstein Library acquires, preserves and makes available to a large population of researchers published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women, past and present."

"One of the special collections libraries within the Harvard Library—the oldest library system in the United States—the Schlesinger Library is considered the leading center for scholarship on the history of women in the United States, with collections that span civil rights and feminism, health and sexuality, work and family life, education and the professions, and culinary history and etiquette. "

"The Archives for Research on Women documents the experiences of women and men participating in women-centered activist and advocacy activities in Georgia and the Southeast throughout the 20th and 21st centuries. It also documents the experiences of women at Georgia State University. Collections include the personal and professional papers of individual activists as well as the records of activist organizations, and the personal and professional papers of GSU administrators and faculty, as well the records of its Women’s Studies Institute, and women-centered committees and organizations."

"In recognition of the complexity and change experienced by 20th century women in Utah and elsewhere, the mission of the Aileen H. Clyde 20th Century Women's Legacy Archive is to document and preserve the history of women whose lives and work helped create social and cultural change."

"The African American Women Writers of the 19th Century Guide originated from the Digital Schomburg African American Women Writers of the 19th Century site that included fully accessible published works, writer biographies, and citations for these works. In this guide, researchers will find original content from the site; direct links to plain text digital books for all and full view for many; related Schomburg collections; online resources; and much more."

"While other forms of nineteenth-century women’s writing have been the focus of extensive scholarship and have developed a strong presence on the web, it became clear to me that dime novels have not received the attention they deserve. This genre, once enormously popular with its readers, has been neglected for most of its history by scholars, collectors, and libraries. It suffers from the double burden of being both popular and written for working-class women. This project hopes to overcome the history of oversight to both the form and its readers by providing information about the novels themselves, the authors, the readers, and nineteenth century public reaction."

"This project is a collection of works by female authors extending from the 17th to the 20th centuries organized into seven broad categories."

"An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression."

"This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States."

"The mission of the Sophia Smith Collection of Women’s History is to collect, preserve, and make accessible records documenting the history of women and other gender minorities. It is a rich source for those interested in women’s movements for social change, particularly suffrage, reproductive rights and reproductive justice, and the women’s liberation movement."

"This collection contains manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s. The Women's Liberation Movement refers to a series of campaigns for reforms on issues such as reproductive rights, domestic violence, and equal pay. Feminist print culture, such as the examples provided in the collection, supported and sustained the Women's Movement and connect it to other movements for social justice."

"The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of primary source materials associated with the 19th Amendment and the women's suffrage movement, including manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, sheet music, and broadsides."

"The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare."