Research Tools - ENGC 090 - Murphy - LibGuides at Colorado Mesa University

A good starting place, encyclopedias can provide general background information and may suggest directions for research.

The databases below include articles from scholarly journals and professional magazines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Learn how to use Academic Search Complete.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History History-related books, periodicals, documents, videos, biographies, photos, and maps; some full-text from 1917-current.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences, History, Business, Health, Law, Politics.Analysis of current social issues from different points of view. Often includes overviews of the history and controversies around a topic.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History, Art, Literature Full-text essays, articles, and guides that present multiple sides of an issue.

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience. It's one of the easiest access points for online primary source materials related to United States history.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
"Explore 901,707 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections."
The Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitized texts, art, photographs, maps, and other public domain material from the Library of Congress collections.

Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection
"Experience Colorado as it happened." Currently includes more than 620 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 up thru 2021.
Mountain West Digital Library
"The Mountain West Digital Library is a portal to digital resources from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies throughout the Mountain West."
Lost Highways: Dispatches from the Shadows of the Rocky Mountains
History Colorado's award-winning documentary podcast
History Colorado Online Collections
Search History Colorado's collections of primary sources related to a wide variety of historical events and locations within Colorado.
Denver Public Library Online Collections
Search a variety of primary sources on Colorado History available at the Denver Public Library.

ENGC 090 - Murphy