LibGuides: HIST 404: Topic: History of Popular Culture in the United States: Finding Secondary Sources

Sources at Tomlinson Library

The Nineties by Chuck Klosterman
Call Number: E 169.12 .K556 2022 (New books - 1st floor)
ISBN: 9780735217959
Publication Date: 2022-02-08
Rock and Roll, Social Protest, and Authenticity by Kurt Torell
Call Number: ML 3918.R63 T65 2022 (New books - 1st floor)
ISBN: 9781793655639
Publication Date: 2022-03-17
The Oxford Handbook of Music and Queerness by Fred Everett Maus (Editor); Sheila Whiteley (Editor); Tavia Nyong'o (As told to); Zoe Sherinian (As told to)
Call Number: ML 3797.4 .O94 2022 (Reference collection - 1st floor)
ISBN: 9780199793525
Publication Date: 2022-02-04
Hollywood Sports Movies and the American Dream by Grant Wiedenfeld
Call Number: Online access
ISBN: 9780197624937
Publication Date: 2022-05-06
Rise: A Pop History of Asian America from the Nineties to Now by Jeff Yang; Phil Yu; Philip Wang
Call Number: Online access
ISBN: 9780358525882
Publication Date: 2022-03-01
Live Music in America: A History from Jenny Lind to Beyoncé by Steve Waksman
Call Number: Online access
ISBN: 9780197570548
Publication Date: 2022-09-20
Psychology and Pop Culture by Keith W. Beard; April Fugett; Britani Black
Call Number: Online access
ISBN: 9781793624680
Publication Date: 2021-03-01

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Art & Design, Business, Music, Theatre Arts Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles in the humanities and sciences from 1831-"moving wall" (generally 3 to 5 years). Note: most recent 3-5 years are not included. Articles which are not available in our subscription may be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
JSTOR has provided complimentary access during Covid to JSTOR Archives & Primary Source Collections until June 30, 2021.
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art & Design, Music, Theatre Arts, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Indexing (some full-text) of journal articles, books, reference works, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations in the humanities from 1925 to present; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Hein Online This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 186 million pages and 287,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges an important research gap by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,800 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of academic journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
OmniFile Select This link opens in a new window
Subject: Academic Journals for all subjects Some full-text to multidisciplinary journals and magazines from 1994-current.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Social & Behavioral Sciences, Political Sciences Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social & Behavioral Sciences Peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference papers, and other sources on sociology from 1895-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Subject: History History-related books, periodicals, documents, videos, biographies, photos, and maps; some full-text from 1917-current.

There is a popular movie collection on the 1st floor of the library north of the New Books.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Teacher Education, Social Sciences, Business, Political Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health Sciences, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Computer Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Music, Art & Design,
Theatre Arts Searchable collection of streaming videos, educational films, and video segments in the humanities & social sciences, science and math, business and health and medicine.

Google Scholar

Tomlinson Library has registered our journal holdings with Google Scholar. After setting up full text linking for CMU (see tab above), you can search by title, and Google Scholar will link you to the full text of articles available through our databases.

Tell Google Scholar you’re affiliated with Colorado Mesa and you’ll be linked to resources in our databases:

To access Google Scholar, click on the Google Scholar link logo above
Click on the Settings link from the menu at the top of the page
Select Library links from the left-hand menu
Type “Colorado Mesa University” in the Show library access links box
Check the box next to Colorado Mesa University—Full-text available
Click Save to save this setting

Google Scholar can be used to search on a topic, but it is especially effective for tracking down a specific article. If the article is available in full text through the library databases, a link will be provided to the full text.

HIST 404: Topic: History of Popular Culture in the United States

EDS - Finding Sources Through the Library

Borrowing from other libraries

Sources at Tomlinson Library

Google Scholar