Deepening Research - Seek You - English 111 Common Read - LibGuides at Colorado Mesa University

Search All

Use the Search All box below to locate a variety of sources (both print and online) from the Library collections

For instance, typing in "Harry Harlow" will return books written by Harlow as well as books about him and his research, in addition to journal articles discussing his life and work.

or Use the Concept Map tool to explore a keyword or idea.

Exploring themes and references - Start here:

Use these reference sources from the library to look up concepts & people mentioned in Seek You

Merriam-Webster Dictionary online
Openly accessible online dictionary from Merriam-Webster
Cambridge Dictionary
Openly-accessible online dictionary from Cambridge U. Press
Oxford Reference Online
Subjects: Archaeology, Art, Architecture, History, Language, Linguistics, Health,
Music, Literature, Philosophy, Science, and Social Science. Full-text subject reference works in a single cross-searchable resource. Note: accommodates only 1 user at any given time.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Subjects: Business, Biological Sciences. Online access to variety of reference books from the Gale publishing family. Can search an individual title or all titles at once.
Opposing Viewpoints
Subject: Social Sciences, History, Business, Health, Law, Politics.Analysis of current social issues from different points of view. Often includes overviews of the history and controversies around a topic.
Encyclopedia of American Studies
From Johns Hopkins University - Covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present.
Oxford Music
Full-text of Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011), and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006). Note: accommodates only 1 user at any given time.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History

Films on Demand includes streaming documentary videos on individual authors and cultural critics, including key figures referenced by Radtke in Seek You

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Literature, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics. Art.
Multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journal and magazine articles; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
Learn how to use Academic Search Complete.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Social & Behavioral Sciences, Political Sciences Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social & Behavioral Sciences Peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference papers, and other sources on sociology from 1895-current; some full-text; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subject: Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Health Index (some full-text) of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology, psychiatry, and psychological aspects of medicine, nursing, sociology, education, physiology, anthropology, and business; constructs bibliography in five different citation styles.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nursing Index with some full-text to journals in medicine, nursing, health care system, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and veterinary medicine from 1994-current.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Physical & Environmental Sciences Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Languages, Literature & Mass Communication, Teacher Education

US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Subject: Business, Language, Literature, and Communication Contains full text of the New York Times (including the Book Review and Magazine), Wall Street Journal, The Chicago Tribune, LA Times, and the Washington Post.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Languages, Literature & Mass Communication Full-text regional, national & international newspapers, state and federal court cases and statutes, law reviews, and company profiles.

For a local or regional news:

Grand Junction Daily Sentinel (ask the Reference desk for full text beyond the free article limit)
Daily Sentinel Index 1900-2005 (Just an index for the microfilm; Helpful for historical research)
Montrose Daily Press
Glenwood Springs Post Independent
The Durango Herald
High Country News
The Colorado Sun