HIST 202: Historical Research

A good place to get started exploring the experiences of different communities. "The history of the United States has always been shaped by peoples and communities who came to its shores or moved within its borders. Some sought a better life, some fled oppression, and some were moved against their will. This presentation uses Library of Congress primary sources to explore moments and experiences from several of these communities."

"Among the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to immigrants from the late 1700s through the early 2000s. The National Archives preserves and makes available documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business."

"The Immigration History Research Center Archives (IHRCA, or IHRC Archives) is an archives and library for the study of immigration, ethnicity, and race. We select sources documenting a broad range of immigrant and refugee experiences, and strive to connect archives to today’s experiences."

"This digital collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression."

Groupings of primary sources around immigration themes or timelines. You can also do a search in DPLA to see the numerous resources available from all over the country.

Includes passenger lists, oral histories, and educational videos.

"The Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) carries out two main functions: to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department’s operational Components."