Background Information - ENGL 112: English Composition - Christ-Campbell

Online Encyclopedias

A good starting place, encyclopedias can provide general background information and may suggest directions for research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Subjects: Business, Biological Sciences. Online access to variety of reference books from the Gale publishing family. Can search an individual title or all titles at once.
Oxford Reference Online
Subjects: Archaeology, Art, Architecture, History, Language, Linguistics, Health,
Music, Literature, Philosophy, Science, and Social Science. Full-text subject reference works in a single cross-searchable resource. Note: accommodates only 1 user at any given time.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Analysis of current social issues from different points of view. Often includes overviews of the history and controversies around a topic.

Pew Research Center

The Pew Research Center provides information and reports on "on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world." A great source of current statistics and analysis.

Statistics - U. S. and International

USA.gov - Data and Statistics
Gateway to U. S. government statistics covering business & economics, the environment, family, home & community, health & nutrition, jobs & education, public safety, science & technology, travel & recreation. Also includes data in map form.
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. From the U. S. Central Intelligence Agency.

Finding Local Information

For a local or regional perspective on your topic:

Tips for Interviewing

Interviewing
This guide from the Purdue Writing Lab discusses types of interviews, how to set up an interview, and interview do's and don'ts.
Creating Good Interview Questions
This guide considers what to include and what to avoid in creating focused interview questions. From the Purdue Online Writing Lab.

ENGL 112: English Composition - Christ-Campbell: Background Information

Online Encyclopedias

Pew Research Center

Statistics - U. S. and International

Finding Local Information

For a local or regional perspective on your topic:

Local/Regional Newspapers

Historical Information

Statistics

Tips for Interviewing