Skip to Main Content

ENGL 240: Children's Literature: Research

Survey of literature for children from birth to age 12, focusing on ways of reading texts.

Resources for Background Information

Ernest H. Shepherd

from The House at Pooh Corner by A. A. Milne

Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature Online

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
ONLINE
Written by more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. Includes biographies of authors and illustrators and essays on prominent trends and themes.

Book Reviews & Literary Criticism

Children's Literature Review This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth biographical profiles and the full text of reviews and criticism of the author's work over time. Also includes essays on prominent themes and trends - such as "Time-slip Novels" or "Utopian Childrens Literature."

Horn Book Magazine
Includes book reviews and essays concerning cultural aspects of children's literature.
The Lion & the Unicorn
A theme- and genre-centered journal of international scope committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes book reviews and literary criticism.
Novelist This link opens in a new window
Includes book reviews and plot synopses for books written for children and young adults. Allows searching by plot criteria or lexile reading level.

Reference Works

Characters in Children's Literature
Call Number: Reference PN1009.A1 J78 1997
The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English
Call Number: Reference PR990 .C36 2001
The Junior Book of Authors series
Call Number: 3rd floor - PN 1009 .A1 J8
Multicultural and Ethnic Children's Literature in the United States
Call Number: 3rd floor - Z 1039.M56 G55 2007

Last Updated: Jul 16, 2024 10:26 AM
URL: https://libguides.coloradomesa.edu/ENGL240Christ
Print Page

Subjects: Literature & Writing

Tags: children, education, english, literature, reading